News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

Virtuemart 2 and Joomla's built-in language switcher

Started by Artanis, March 19, 2012, 11:23:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Artanis

Hello!

I'm pretty new to Joomla 2.5 and to VM2, but as far everything was going great. Installed Joomla, draw design, made new template from scratch (that is really easy with some CSS knowledge - Joomla is really great), installed VM2, configured all taxes, shippings, etc, added all my products - evertyhing is great. BUT - as in my country there are multiple main languages, I have to use some kind of language switching tool.

At first try I used extension called Falang, but it turned out to be incompatible with VM2, so I desiced to start from scratch and build site only using Joomla's built-in language switching support hoping that it will work good with VM2. But there is problem - it seems that VM2 is not switching languages together with rest of site. As you can see in screenshots attached - built-in language switcher in Joomla makes no impact on VM2's language. Only changing default language in Admin panel changes VM2's language.

Why is this problem? Is there a way to correct it as it should be - that VM2 langage changes together with rest of site?

Best regards, Arthur

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Animus Project - Design Studio
Running Joomla 2.5.6, Virtuemart 2.0.6a, PHP 5.3.10

Artanis

UPDATE:

Seems that I've solved this problem. So the thing is that localisation in my language wasn't quite complete, and there were syntax error in VM2 translation (found under the pageroot/administrator/languages/xx-XX/com_virtuemart.ini ). Corrected the syntax error, and now languages are switching normally.

Nope, problem partially still there - now just VM2 translation itself switches normally - products are still shown only in site's default language. What the hell?

jjk

See here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=95970.msg317893#msg317893