Author Topic: com_languages  (Read 4731 times)

Roues

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
com_languages
« on: August 07, 2011, 17:26:21 pm »
Is there any chance or way in VM2 for supporting com_languages how it's done with native Joomla components?

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3634
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: com_languages
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 19:24:24 pm »
Could you explain what you mean with "how it's done with native Joomla components"?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Roues

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: com_languages
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 21:51:01 pm »
Could you explain what you mean with "how it's done with native Joomla components"?
may be screenshot?

when Joomla in multilang mode, language preffixes are present in urls like site.com/en/VMartfrommenulink, site.com/fr/VMartfrommenulink etc, and internal (not corresponding from menu) VMart links to vievs not working :(

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3634
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: com_languages
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2011, 22:10:27 pm »
...so we are two users already who would like to have this feature ;D
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=83252.msg277849#msg277849
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Roues

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: com_languages
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2011, 22:52:56 pm »
...so we are two users
oops, but without this feature, it turns like:
WM1 is based on J10 with the only ability to install with J15
WM2 is based on J15 with the only ability to install with J17+
... a pity

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4244
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: com_languages
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 02:00:11 am »
YOu can use j1.5 with no problems and do a multilanguage site with joomfish by adding the elements for virtuemart.
If you want a real site with translates, joomfish is working on j1.7 to do it work.It's only a question of time.
The joomla multilanguage is a basic feature and not complet.

If you want use it, you must duplicate all your articles(then you have 4 same articles for 4 languages)
For each categories do same
for main page,vendor; manufacturer ,...
modules assign

you can look here for a big tutorial :
http://info-graf.fr/trunk/en/multi-lingual-steps-by-steps

this is nonsense for a shop !

(because you have 4 menu entry's by language for 4 language you have 4 id's, how managing the stock?)
And you must add all product and categories to the menu entry !
but you can do it ;)

rblaauw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: com_languages
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2011, 12:45:14 pm »
So there is no other way than waiting on Joomfish 2.6 for J1.7. There hasn't been a lot of activity on this joomfish project for the last month i really hope it won't take several more month to finish. The native joomla mulit language is no option with more than 9000 product and 400 product categories...

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3634
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: com_languages
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2011, 15:14:03 pm »
The current J1.7 multi-language features are the result of a cooperation of Joomla and Joomfish! team members and Joomfish! If I did understand correctly, Joomfish! 2.6 will be based on the older Joomfish! 2.2 code adapted to work with J1.6.+, while Joomfish! 3.0 will be designed for the J1.7+ system from scratch.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

rblaauw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: com_languages
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2011, 08:56:59 am »
Since there hasn't been any sign of live form the joomfish project there now is a very interesting project that seems to be a further development of joomfish for joomla 1.7:

http://www.faboba.com/en/composants/falang

its now beta 3 but at least they are doing something..

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3634
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: com_languages
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2011, 09:21:41 am »
I also noticed that one yesterday, but I'would prefer language tags in VM2 similar like the ones available for to J1.7.x content categories and articles  ;D
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations