News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

Warning, the Safe Path is not accessible

Started by TomaG, August 09, 2012, 14:33:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TomaG

I am new to virtuemart. I am running into a few problems in getting it going.

VM version 2.0.8e
Joomla Version 2.5.6
PHP Version 5.2.14 (http://salmontrollinglures.com/phpinfo.php)

I have created the suggested folders for the safe path but I am still getting this message with debug on. (How do I fix it?)

vmdebug self::$_jpConfig->lang en_gb
vmdebug vmTime: loadConfig db no: 0.00320601463318
vmdebug vmTime: loadConfig db no: 0.00153708457947
Configuration Saved
vmdebug vmTime: loadConfig db no: 0.00296211242676
Warning, the Safe Path is not accessible (does not exist or no permission), for safety reasons it is very important to create a folder in a path not accessible by an URL, create also a folder invoices in it to store your sensitive data secure. Our suggested path is for your system home/salmotr/vmfiles/MLP

The folders exist and permissions are set to 777

baysidemk

I am having the same problem.   The suggested path is actually the path i specified and the permissions have been set to 777.  but, it still gives the error message.

jenkinhill

Quote from: baysidemk on September 14, 2012, 17:54:31 PM
the permissions have been set to 777

Never use 777 unless you are on a really badly configuired server, in which case move on. 755 is all you need. Anything higher is just inviting hackers in.

Some shared servers, such as nogodaddy, will not permit users to access directories below root, so make it above root with an unguessable directory name.
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

maryswave