News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

Question: Do you find VM2 overly difficult to template?

Started by bunglehaze, December 05, 2011, 22:03:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bunglehaze

Hi folks, just a quick question to get a bit of a show of hands really - DEV's please do not get your heckles up at this, it is in no-way meant as an attack.

Personally I am finding VM2 an absolute headache when it comes to styling pages and modules, as one of my other posts outlines there is no standard styling included with the VM Products module for an Install > Configure > Publish way to work and the most basic of shops require addition of a bit of CSS, additional DIV tags etc just to get things either in line or not looking messy. I am no developer but I am capable enough to add very basic styling where it is required with a little trial and error but to me the new all singling and dancing Virtuemart should not need this level of adjustment for a truly plug and play experience.

• Just now I have had to restyle the products module which now differs from the featured products/latest products on the category page (why - can these not share a style with the option to override?)
    • Things such as add to cart buttons are advertised as available in module settings but missing in the moduel once published
    • Category pages are just all over the place, I dropped the two column layout and added all pertinent data in the single div which is now increased to 100% - basic styling which would otherwise put off a new user
    • Where most template clubs are setup to be ready to roll with CSS tweaks for customisation is IMO where VM2 should be - the CSS is something I have barely touched yet which in my eyes is odd
    • Tasks such as linking the product images to product pages rather than a modal box (or blank page if modal is switched off) are not intuitive at all