Suggestion to Extend Virtuemart product search capabilities

Started by Galt, June 06, 2014, 12:11:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Galt

Hello, I'm a developer of Cherry Picker (CP) -- a product search module that's been around since VM1.1.
I want to suggest a very small addition to the core VM code that will allow us, Virtuemart extension developers, to write products that extend Virtuemart product search capabilities WITHOUT the need to hack any core files.

WHY DO WE NEED THIS

Well, first of all there is a version of CP that uses its own table structure to manage filters. Custom Fields are great, but there are certain reasons why we'd like to manage filter tables in our own way: and one of the most important is the "performance".
Also we keep adding new features and therefore tables are often being changed/modified. This way it's all sandboxed and no other parts of VM are affected.

As a result there is a need to edit /admin..(vm)/models/product.php so that when a filter in front-end is selected additional SQL JOINS and WHERES are appended to the main VM query.
What's worse is that users need to do it every time they update Virtuemart (and there are a lot of VM updates nowadays).

Currently we provide manuals or already pre-edited files that users need to overwrite in order for the search to work.
But from the point of view of usability this is a very poor user experience both for VM and CP users.

HOW IT WORKS NOW

File affected:
/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/models/product.php

Function:
function sortSearchListQuery(..)

Currently VM uses this trigger to fetch SQL parts:

JPluginHelper::importPlugin ('vmcustom');
$dispatcher = JDispatcher::getInstance ();
$PluginJoinTables = array();
$ret = $dispatcher->trigger ('plgVmAddToSearch', array(&$where, &$PluginJoinTables, $this->searchplugin));

But these parts are added in a very specific way -- we can't add arbitrary tables to JOINS:

if (!empty($PluginJoinTables)) {
$plgName = $PluginJoinTables[0];