Author Topic: State/region/province not populating when using ssl  (Read 6369 times)

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10431
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2013, 22:10:37 pm »
Thanks again

We have come to the reluctant conclusion that the template is not the major culprit here, but in fact that the choice of cart software might have been critical. I tried different templates. I have tried weeding through the cart page for http links (and still have an amber warning padlock in Chrome). I have tried dumping OPC (which on the whole behaves well).

Is there a VM2 site out there which has no problems where only the cart page is secure? I think that we are pushing this technology to the limit here.

other problems:
  • Jotcache stops the updating/removal of cart items
  • Auto currency switcher doesn't work (latest pre release version only works with Germany)

IfI could get rid of these I would be a happy fellow.

btw, the initial problem that the thread was started with was a no ajax problem whilst the cart thought it was really insecure. We have shipping and pay auto select etc. now working.

to find the unsecure items.

Go to the cart page.
Turn on HTTPFOX, refresh the page.
Then scroll through the list for anything that starts with http without the S

http://oxfordgenetics.com/images/stories/virtuemart/payment/authorize_net_logo.jpg
http://oxfordgenetics.com/images/stories/virtuemart/payment/PayPal.gif


Is there a VM2 site out there which has no problems where only the cart page is secure? I think that we are pushing this technology to the limit here.

My whole site is secure if I want it to be. I use relative urls.


I dont know about jot cache

I use jch optimize to speed the site up.
http://www.kaizenmediaworks.com/jch-optimize-virtuemart-2-0



Valdez360

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2013, 10:20:41 am »
I have found that it is these causing the secure and insecure items:
  • Paypal gateway
  • Authorize.net Gateway

I have removed these many times before with no improvement, but due to browser caching or whatever I have found out that these are it.

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10431
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2013, 14:35:57 pm »
I have found that it is these causing the secure and insecure items:
  • Paypal gateway
  • Authorize.net Gateway

I have removed these many times before with no improvement, but due to browser caching or whatever I have found out that these are it.


have you tried deleting your internet history?

and when I checked yesterday they were insecure

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2656
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2013, 22:25:39 pm »
Jotcache shouldn't be used in VM.

I just checked Jotcache forum/website.

And I didn't see any reason why Jotcache shouldn't be avoided by us.

... in fact that the choice of cart software might have been critical.
Could you elaborate more about your main issue, please?
You can support Community by voting for Project on the JED
https://extensions.joomla.org/extension/virtuemart/#reviews
Join us at
https://twitter.com/virtuemart

Valdez360

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2013, 16:23:23 pm »
Many thanks for your reply Maxim. I think I am getting on top of many of these problems (many of these fixed by advice from this forum). Site speed is going to be an issue if I cannot cache the pages.

Jotcache works, but I have to turn caching off for the cart and the product pages. The reason being that the currency won't auto switch.

solmab

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2013, 23:50:39 pm »
Hi

I am having similar issue- State drop down not working when SSL is switched on- works fine with out ssl. 

Looking at Google Chrome console for the checkout page this is the error:

 https://www.site.com/checkout.html displayed insecure content from http://www.site.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=state&format=json&virtuemart_country_id=222&_=1382999701323

looks like it is trying to get state with an insecure url - anybody know where is this code located? or how to fix this.

I am using System - SSL Redirection- this is to make sure the https is switched off when not on checkout page.

Joomla! 2.5.6
VM 2.0.24

Thank you

Valdez360

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Javascript stops working
« Reply #21 on: October 30, 2013, 10:25:07 am »
Hi solmab. Chrome flags this insecure content and shows an amber warning in the padlock area. It also stops running JavaScript on the page which is why the country selection doesn't update the cart. If  I remember FF is a little more forgiving.

You have to go through the whole page from the top down and make sure that all requests/links/contrent are either secure (beginning with https), or relative links on the same domain (/My-Help).

One of the big culprits for me was the iframe that contains the terms and conditions.

solmab

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: State/region/province not populating when using ssl
« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2013, 21:18:11 pm »
Thanks Valdez360.

All sorted! :)