Author Topic: Language change difficulty  (Read 2441 times)

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Language change difficulty
« on: January 13, 2018, 14:53:13 pm »
Hi,

I have been using the joomla overrides to change the language.

However, there is one that does not seem to be working.
COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_ORDERDONE_THANK_YOU

When I use the override on the one, it stays in english, is there somehting I am missing? I could change it directly in the /com_virtuemart/language/en-GB/en-GB.com_virtuemart.ini but I was hoping to use the overrides.  The page "order done" is the only page where it doesn't seem to be working.

Joomla : 3.8.3
Virtuemart : 3.2.12
php: 7.0.27

Anything I need to check?

Thanks :)

Have a nice day

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3656
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2018, 21:39:41 pm »
Try to override COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_THANKYOU instead.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 03:44:32 am »
Sorry for the slow response. 

I tried it a few mins ago and it did not fix it.  Any other that I can try?

Thanks!!

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3656
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2018, 12:57:25 pm »
Is your shop bilingual in English and French?
Did you install the French VirtueMart language pack from http://virtuemart.net/community/translations?
Do you have selected both languages in your VirtueMart configuration > 'Shop' tab > Language settings?
Which one is your selected site language in Joomla?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2018, 18:19:48 pm »
If you search in the Joomla > langage overide do you have a result.
See https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Language_Overrides_in_Joomla about overides.

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2019, 21:57:53 pm »
Hi all,

I changed the shop to French only (joomla is also in English and French - French being the main one), fixed it up and then turned back English on.

But my language overrides are still not working in the emails.  (as I want to change what comes out of the mail_html.footer.php, among others)  Also, in the PDF file that, I can spot a few german words!! and that too, the language overrides have no effect. 

At somepoint, I removed any fallback for untranslated stings and so I could see the constant.  Most of them already had a joomla language override.

I can see them in the joomla but they do not have any effect in the mail.  In the shop, my language overrides are working. At least the language is ok (mostly French), which explains a bit why I took this long to come back to it... :) But I can see some French lines that I want to change and the overrides are not working in the emails.

Since my first message was a longtime ago...

Here are my updated stuff
Joomla 3.9.6
Virtuemart 3.4.2
PHP 7.2.15


What is the best way to be able to modify the footer and a couple of other stuff in the email ( and also including the pdf).

Thanks for the questions and the help, any help appreciated.

Have a nice day,

J



jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3656
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2019, 22:59:37 pm »
Do you mean this language key/string: COM_VIRTUEMART_MAIL_FOOTER="Thank you for purchasing at "?
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2019, 00:59:01 am »
Yes that is one of the changes I want to make.

When I use the joomla language override, it has no effect.


I've tried to make a new fr-FR.com_virtuemart.ini file (that came from the /language/fr-FR/fr-FR.com_virtuemart.ini) but not sure where to put it. 

I tried to put it in templates/mytemplate/html/language/fr-FR/fr-FR.com_virtuemart.ini but this did not work either.

I don't want to remake the changes on every update. :)


Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2852
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2019, 06:02:59 am »
Have you made the language changes in Joomla override for the backend and ticked the box use in both front and backend?
Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.18
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2019, 10:36:59 am »
ArchiB, you have to respect some rules when you edit the language file directly.
If you have any errors the file is not used anymore.
So it's better to add overrides in the Joomla back-end as administrator KEY and check use in both front and backend as explained by Jörgen.

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2019, 13:54:53 pm »
Not sure I understand what you are both talking about... lol

When I do a language override, I do it like this:
https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Language_Overrides_in_Joomla

Only, I am doing fr-FR overrides instead of en-GB.

I don't see the "check-box" you are talking about.

@studio.. yes I know there are rules which I am not aware off.  But since some of the overrides entered from the joomla backend were not working(all of which are related to VM emails), I thought maybe this would have been a solution since all I can find on the subject dates way back to 2016..



Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2019, 14:12:41 pm »
When you do the overide. Do not select location "site" but location "administrator" then you can see the checkbox and KEY can be saved for admin and front.

ArchiB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • A beginner
Re: Language change difficulty
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2019, 15:03:01 pm »
Ah.. :)

That was it.  I have always been using the "site" overrides.  sometimes I would find a constant with the admin but would save it in the site.

Thanks for your help.  I guess I will use admin from now on and select "both".

Thanks for your time and help.