News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

[SOLVED] Advice on upgrade from 2.0.6 to 2.0.18b

Started by anotart, March 01, 2013, 17:46:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

anotart

Hello,

I am a novice with virtuemart, having installed it on just one site.  This site has updates available, but I'm a bit nervious to proceed because when I did one of these before the site went live, it totally broke something (at this point, I don't recall what).  The only way I could fix it then was roll back.

Additionally, this client is not inclined to pay for an upgrade that I need to charge for.  However, if this is a security issue, I don't want to leave it be.  There is very little traffic to this store.

Is this upgrade important from a security stand-point?  Any advice is welcome.

Thanks so much,
Anne

jenkinhill

Yes, this is a security issue. Versions below 2.0.10 are considered as unsecure.

The usual thing that needs updating in those older vertsions are template overrides, if used. But all changes are described in the live update info - see http://virtuemart.net/index.php?option=com_content&id=416 and work backwards.

Test the update on a backup copy of the live site. You don't say which Joomla version, but all below J2.5.9 require updating.
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

anotart

Thank you very much for your answer.  All of my sites are on 2.5.9, one plus!  I appreciate the link to the documentation, too.

Anne

anotart

I did the upgrade on a local copy to test everything.  One problem I'm having is the language override.  I've done a good bit of searching but not sure what the problem is.