Author Topic: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.26d  (Read 14232 times)

Three_d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.26d
« on: January 19, 2013, 15:25:47 pm »
Hello,

In VirtueMart 1.x it was possible to add products in de the backend to an existing order.
How can you do this in VirtueMart 2.0.18a.

Jeroen

concap

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 04:55:04 am »
I would like to know this as well

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28324
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2013, 10:42:58 am »
BE order editing is being introduced for VM2.2 - see http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Roadmap
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart  4.0.2 10661 on Joomla 3.10.9 PHP 7.4.29

Mongrel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2013, 16:46:56 pm »
Man... Why do they take great functionality and remove it!!  Arggh!!!

I just found this out tonight when I went to make a change to a customers order, and found out I cant.!  AARGHH!!!!

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28324
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2013, 23:27:09 pm »
You can edit orders in the BE with the latest versions but you cannot add extra items to a customer order because it is now prohibited by some payment processors, certainly PayPal and I believe also Authorize.net and possibly more. The reason is that the customer has already contracted to pay a certain amount and you cannot charge them more in the existing order contract. There must be a new order created.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart  4.0.2 10661 on Joomla 3.10.9 PHP 7.4.29

Mongrel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2013, 02:10:26 am »
Seriously mate,

VM needs to stop trying to be the world police, or you are going to get left behind!!

The fact of the matter is, we get SO many people calling up after they have an order in asking to add more items.  It happens EVERY SINGLE DAY - AND - we also have customers who have an account - so they don't get billed until the end of the month, so adding items to an order is not a problem.

The thing VM needs to remember is, you are dealing with users from all over the world, and the laws in each country are different.  That said, VM should not take the approach of keeping a function out because its apparently against the law in some countries.  The onus is on the USER to not break the law in their country.

I was so close to going to Magento, and I stuck with VM.  If I had of known all of what I found when I upgraded to VM2, I would have gone to Magento.  But I am stuck with VM2 now, and so I had to find another way.

The answer = ARTIO VM Invoice.

It does what VM should do out of the box, for goodness sake!!!

PLEASE stop trying to police the e-Commerce world, and allow your user base the ability to run their online business how they please.  If they break the law, good on them!  But users like me who NEED to change orders 20 times a day, will have a system that does everything we want it to do, and not have to pay 3rd party vendors to the job VM should have done out of the box.

If you can't listen to the feedback of your users, who are you going to listen to?

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3510
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2013, 13:11:49 pm »
Hmm - hopping onto my soap box for a second ....

Quote
You can edit orders in the BE with the latest versions but you cannot add extra items to a customer order because it is now prohibited by some payment processors, certainly PayPal and I believe also Authorize.net and possibly more. The reason is that the customer has already contracted to pay a certain amount and you cannot charge them more in the existing order contract. There must be a new order created.

The new version of VM 2.0.21d  ALLOWS for the price of an item to be changed so I see no Payment Service Provider rationale for not allowing an order item to be added before a final invoice is provided.

This feature is a big loss fo VM2 for many e-commerce owners - We edit orders for our customers everyday - PayPal do NOT CARE. We are not re-sending a payment request on the same order_id to paypal - I don't think that such functionality ever existed for a paid for order even in VM1.

We simply bill or credit the difference using our Paypal Virtual terminal, or by whatever means the customer prefers.

Many B2B customers pay COD or by account so the payment processesor debate is a red herring and irrelevant!

Artio VM invoice should NOT be the stock response, VM does a great job of handling the order/invoice flow without adding yet more plugins to manage basic functionality relating to shopping cart administration functionality.  The base VM should support adding an order line and no doubt, will in the future releases. We have already seen the great first step in allowing the price of an order line to be adjusted in the backend!

Magento PAH!  No integration with a decent CMS system and slow as a snail!!
Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28324
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2013, 14:00:37 pm »
I don't think we will have a problem with that in the UK using PayPal, but this may be different in the US where for example, to use Authorize.net certain conditions must be adhered to or you cannot use them, and it is important that payment processors are kept onside as partners with VirtueMart. My VM sites have always been B2B (until the latest one I just finished) so payment has never been an issue. Stupid thing is for these processors you are apparently permitted to reduce an order and give a rebate to the customer, but not increase it and ask for additional payment. So that is solved by creating a new order.......

Then we also have the different regulations within the various EU member states.

And yes, in the next version (being tested now), you can increase (or decrease) the number of each item within an order and increase the invoice charge accordingly, but I don't know what will happen when our Authorize users try this for their customers.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart  4.0.2 10661 on Joomla 3.10.9 PHP 7.4.29

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3510
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2013, 16:49:54 pm »
Jenkinhill

The functionality exists to adjust the Quantity and the value of an order line - it does not force a lower amount than the original value stored. 

Increasing the qty is the effectively adding an item to the order, is it not?

Adding a different item is no more significant an issue.

The "it will upset a payment partner" argument is valid for the technical integration with providers only, not the business operation. Management of order handling sits with the individuals.

We should also steer well clear of "because there are different EU regs"  VM do not employ a global head of compliance (unless they have secured some significant funding recently!) I doubt that they would be willing to state the compliant nature of the solution for any region in which it could be deployed.

Site owners have to comply with the local regulations relating to trading, taxation and distance selling etc.  But VM (or any e-com package that I am aware of) is not required to enforce local legislation on a trading company.

Developing flexible functional solutions  to help support a business, is where Vm is heading, not restricting or constricting business operations due to a single country's legal frameworks.

All i am wishing is that the ability to add an order line will be in vm 2.0.21x
Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

jhoompk

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2013, 10:36:02 am »
Hi,

Will you guys keep fighting why it has removed in VM2 or will anyone present solution for VM2?
Will this plugin provide the desired result?
http://www.artio.net/virtuemart-tools/vm-invoice-generator

Anyone used it?

Mongrel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2013, 11:23:13 am »
ARTIO VM Invoice is your friend.

I have been using it now for months and it does what VM should do out of the box!   I can create orders, change items, delete items etc etc.

Love it!

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3510
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2013, 22:54:11 pm »
Artio VM looks good, but on reviewing the forum posts it looks like they have lots of unanswered issues

I thought they were better than that, am I mistaken.
All we need is the ability to add an item to an order.  I can see that some code is there already but that it is currently hidden.
Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

Mongrel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2013, 00:35:31 am »
I have no issues!  It works perfectly for me, and now I use it for all my invoicing too :)  It has a really nice way of editing the invoice templates and you can either email  them or print them and send with the goods.  :)

AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3510
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.9
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2013, 09:52:55 am »
Hmm

Wonder why there is so much chatter on the forum for this component?

A basic unanswered question and unhappy customer who seems pretty reasonable in their approach:-
http://www.artio.net/support-forums/vm-invoice/customer-support/tax-doesn-t-add-up

There are numerous other queries with no response - for a paid component that is not desirable!

Creating a dependency on core business functionality by adding another complex component that requires updating/testing and alignment with VM releases is not something I really want to get trapped by!

Maybe the devs will eventually allow the addition of items to an order in admin!
Regards
A

Joomla 3.9.27
php 7.4

artyboy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2013, 12:56:46 pm »
Hi all
Here is the way I got around this... for example sometimes I run out of stock, so the product isn't "available" however a customer wants to pre order and pay.
I setup a payment alternative for them to pay.
On the back end I make a shopper group called "Admins only" and assign my admin user to it.
I then make the out of stock product only available to the "admins only" shopper group and increase the stock level to desired amount.
I log in the front end, so that product is only available to me and not anyone else, and place the order on behalf of the customer, using their details as the billing details in the address.
I simply cancel the payment when it gets to Paypal, then go into the backend and mark it as shipped once I know the customer has paid.
I then make the product back to the original shopper group for future.
It takes about 2 minutes to do this, I'm happy and my customer is happy.

If a customer wants to change their order I go about it in a similar way, just with a new order for a new amount / extra products - I place the order on their behalf, and setup a different payment method for them to pay the new amount. If the new amount is LESS than the original order (ie removing a product) I either give them a coupon, or refund the difference to them minus the bank charges, or cancel the entire order and place a new one on their behalf using this method.

Hope that helps...