VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Administration & Configuration => Topic started by: Three_d on January 19, 2013, 15:25:47 pm

Title: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.26d
Post by: Three_d on January 19, 2013, 15:25:47 pm
Hello,

In VirtueMart 1.x it was possible to add products in de the backend to an existing order.
How can you do this in VirtueMart 2.0.18a.

Jeroen
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: concap on April 08, 2013, 04:55:04 am
I would like to know this as well
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: jenkinhill on April 08, 2013, 10:42:58 am
BE order editing is being introduced for VM2.2 - see http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Roadmap
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: Mongrel on June 14, 2013, 16:46:56 pm
Man... Why do they take great functionality and remove it!!  Arggh!!!

I just found this out tonight when I went to make a change to a customers order, and found out I cant.!  AARGHH!!!!
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: jenkinhill on June 14, 2013, 23:27:09 pm
You can edit orders in the BE with the latest versions but you cannot add extra items to a customer order because it is now prohibited by some payment processors, certainly PayPal and I believe also Authorize.net and possibly more. The reason is that the customer has already contracted to pay a certain amount and you cannot charge them more in the existing order contract. There must be a new order created.
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: Mongrel on June 15, 2013, 02:10:26 am
Seriously mate,

VM needs to stop trying to be the world police, or you are going to get left behind!!

The fact of the matter is, we get SO many people calling up after they have an order in asking to add more items.  It happens EVERY SINGLE DAY - AND - we also have customers who have an account - so they don't get billed until the end of the month, so adding items to an order is not a problem.

The thing VM needs to remember is, you are dealing with users from all over the world, and the laws in each country are different.  That said, VM should not take the approach of keeping a function out because its apparently against the law in some countries.  The onus is on the USER to not break the law in their country.

I was so close to going to Magento, and I stuck with VM.  If I had of known all of what I found when I upgraded to VM2, I would have gone to Magento.  But I am stuck with VM2 now, and so I had to find another way.

The answer = ARTIO VM Invoice.

It does what VM should do out of the box, for goodness sake!!!

PLEASE stop trying to police the e-Commerce world, and allow your user base the ability to run their online business how they please.  If they break the law, good on them!  But users like me who NEED to change orders 20 times a day, will have a system that does everything we want it to do, and not have to pay 3rd party vendors to the job VM should have done out of the box.

If you can't listen to the feedback of your users, who are you going to listen to?
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on June 15, 2013, 13:11:49 pm
Hmm - hopping onto my soap box for a second ....

Quote
You can edit orders in the BE with the latest versions but you cannot add extra items to a customer order because it is now prohibited by some payment processors, certainly PayPal and I believe also Authorize.net and possibly more. The reason is that the customer has already contracted to pay a certain amount and you cannot charge them more in the existing order contract. There must be a new order created.

The new version of VM 2.0.21d  ALLOWS for the price of an item to be changed so I see no Payment Service Provider rationale for not allowing an order item to be added before a final invoice is provided.

This feature is a big loss fo VM2 for many e-commerce owners - We edit orders for our customers everyday - PayPal do NOT CARE. We are not re-sending a payment request on the same order_id to paypal - I don't think that such functionality ever existed for a paid for order even in VM1.

We simply bill or credit the difference using our Paypal Virtual terminal, or by whatever means the customer prefers.

Many B2B customers pay COD or by account so the payment processesor debate is a red herring and irrelevant!

Artio VM invoice should NOT be the stock response, VM does a great job of handling the order/invoice flow without adding yet more plugins to manage basic functionality relating to shopping cart administration functionality.  The base VM should support adding an order line and no doubt, will in the future releases. We have already seen the great first step in allowing the price of an order line to be adjusted in the backend!

Magento PAH!  No integration with a decent CMS system and slow as a snail!!
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: jenkinhill on June 15, 2013, 14:00:37 pm
I don't think we will have a problem with that in the UK using PayPal, but this may be different in the US where for example, to use Authorize.net certain conditions must be adhered to or you cannot use them, and it is important that payment processors are kept onside as partners with VirtueMart. My VM sites have always been B2B (until the latest one I just finished) so payment has never been an issue. Stupid thing is for these processors you are apparently permitted to reduce an order and give a rebate to the customer, but not increase it and ask for additional payment. So that is solved by creating a new order.......

Then we also have the different regulations within the various EU member states.

And yes, in the next version (being tested now), you can increase (or decrease) the number of each item within an order and increase the invoice charge accordingly, but I don't know what will happen when our Authorize users try this for their customers.
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on June 15, 2013, 16:49:54 pm
Jenkinhill

The functionality exists to adjust the Quantity and the value of an order line - it does not force a lower amount than the original value stored. 

Increasing the qty is the effectively adding an item to the order, is it not?

Adding a different item is no more significant an issue.

The "it will upset a payment partner" argument is valid for the technical integration with providers only, not the business operation. Management of order handling sits with the individuals.

We should also steer well clear of "because there are different EU regs"  VM do not employ a global head of compliance (unless they have secured some significant funding recently!) I doubt that they would be willing to state the compliant nature of the solution for any region in which it could be deployed.

Site owners have to comply with the local regulations relating to trading, taxation and distance selling etc.  But VM (or any e-com package that I am aware of) is not required to enforce local legislation on a trading company.

Developing flexible functional solutions  to help support a business, is where Vm is heading, not restricting or constricting business operations due to a single country's legal frameworks.

All i am wishing is that the ability to add an order line will be in vm 2.0.21x
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: jhoompk on September 24, 2013, 10:36:02 am
Hi,

Will you guys keep fighting why it has removed in VM2 or will anyone present solution for VM2?
Will this plugin provide the desired result?
http://www.artio.net/virtuemart-tools/vm-invoice-generator

Anyone used it?
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: Mongrel on September 24, 2013, 11:23:13 am
ARTIO VM Invoice is your friend.

I have been using it now for months and it does what VM should do out of the box!   I can create orders, change items, delete items etc etc.

Love it!
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on October 03, 2013, 22:54:11 pm
Artio VM looks good, but on reviewing the forum posts it looks like they have lots of unanswered issues

I thought they were better than that, am I mistaken.
All we need is the ability to add an item to an order.  I can see that some code is there already but that it is currently hidden.
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: Mongrel on October 04, 2013, 00:35:31 am
I have no issues!  It works perfectly for me, and now I use it for all my invoicing too :)  It has a really nice way of editing the invoice templates and you can either email  them or print them and send with the goods.  :)
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on October 04, 2013, 09:52:55 am
Hmm

Wonder why there is so much chatter on the forum for this component?

A basic unanswered question and unhappy customer who seems pretty reasonable in their approach:-
http://www.artio.net/support-forums/vm-invoice/customer-support/tax-doesn-t-add-up (http://www.artio.net/support-forums/vm-invoice/customer-support/tax-doesn-t-add-up)

There are numerous other queries with no response - for a paid component that is not desirable!

Creating a dependency on core business functionality by adding another complex component that requires updating/testing and alignment with VM releases is not something I really want to get trapped by!

Maybe the devs will eventually allow the addition of items to an order in admin!
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: artyboy on November 27, 2013, 12:56:46 pm
Hi all
Here is the way I got around this... for example sometimes I run out of stock, so the product isn't "available" however a customer wants to pre order and pay.
I setup a payment alternative for them to pay.
On the back end I make a shopper group called "Admins only" and assign my admin user to it.
I then make the out of stock product only available to the "admins only" shopper group and increase the stock level to desired amount.
I log in the front end, so that product is only available to me and not anyone else, and place the order on behalf of the customer, using their details as the billing details in the address.
I simply cancel the payment when it gets to Paypal, then go into the backend and mark it as shipped once I know the customer has paid.
I then make the product back to the original shopper group for future.
It takes about 2 minutes to do this, I'm happy and my customer is happy.

If a customer wants to change their order I go about it in a similar way, just with a new order for a new amount / extra products - I place the order on their behalf, and setup a different payment method for them to pay the new amount. If the new amount is LESS than the original order (ie removing a product) I either give them a coupon, or refund the difference to them minus the bank charges, or cancel the entire order and place a new one on their behalf using this method.

Hope that helps...

Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: Mongrel on November 27, 2013, 23:17:39 pm
Hmm

Wonder why there is so much chatter on the forum for this component?

A basic unanswered question and unhappy customer who seems pretty reasonable in their approach:-
http://www.artio.net/support-forums/vm-invoice/customer-support/tax-doesn-t-add-up (http://www.artio.net/support-forums/vm-invoice/customer-support/tax-doesn-t-add-up)

There are numerous other queries with no response - for a paid component that is not desirable!

Creating a dependency on core business functionality by adding another complex component that requires updating/testing and alignment with VM releases is not something I really want to get trapped by!

Maybe the devs will eventually allow the addition of items to an order in admin!

Hmm... All I can say is, that I have never had a problem.  Mine is working perfectly!  Taxes work perfectly. Templates, Invoices etc etc.  My site is fairly large without about 3000 customer so far and 1000 products, and it's running smoothly!  TOUCH WOOD!!  :D
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on November 28, 2013, 01:32:33 am
Looks like a start of adding products to orders in admin has been made in vm 2.0.24c

Not sure how it is meant to function yet
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: artyboy on November 28, 2013, 08:20:29 am
That's great - I hope you can also delete / replace besides add!

For example one of the websites I use VM for bookings for a charity event. I use the extra fields for them to indicate the number of children and number of adults, then the total they just add to cart. Each product is a "date". So if a family wants to add people, or they want to change dates (change products) this will be very useful to me in this case. The reason I use VM for this is that it's actually better than most free booking systems out there in the sense that it works the way I want it to without lots of complications!

Thanks to the VM Dev's for all their hard work!  ;D
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: maxispin on December 10, 2013, 21:06:34 pm
This is a function a shop keeper needs for managing the chaos of million orders.

Let's say that customer orders and pays (way or another) order with one product, before shipment, a new product is wanted to add on the same shipment but the first one is already paid. Thus, to deal with payments, we need at least an editable field for "already payed" payments.
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: maxispin on December 10, 2013, 21:08:20 pm
The version 2.0.24c can be used for adding products from backend to existing orders. Not nicely but it works.

0) check the id of product and you want to add
1) go to order you want to change and press "New" (product). A duplicate is generated. Then press "Edit". Delete duplicate product information. Save. Error occurs. Press Edit again.
2a) Input Name the information customer needs about product. Eg. Blue shirt size XL.
2b) Input SKU. (can be anything but wise to use the same id holds)
2c) Input Product ID (this field is now available :)
2d) Save.

VoilĂ !

Code: [Select]
The error log:
vmError: updateSingleItem and UPDATE `#__virtuemart_orders` SET `order_total`=(SELECT sum(product_final_price*product_quantity) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50)+`order_shipment`+`order_shipment_tax`+`order_payment`+`order_payment_tax`+0, `order_discountAmount`=(SELECT sum(product_subtotal_discount) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50), `order_billDiscountAmount`=`order_discountAmount`+0, `order_salesPrice`=(SELECT sum(product_final_price*product_quantity) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50), `order_tax`=(SELECT sum( product_tax*product_quantity) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50), `order_subtotal`=(SELECT sum(ROUND(product_item_price, )*product_quantity) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50),`order_billTaxAmount`=(SELECT sum( product_tax*product_quantity) FROM #__virtuemart_order_items where `virtuemart_order_id`=50)+`order_shipment_tax`+`order_payment_tax`+0 WHERE `virtuemart_order_id`=50
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.18a
Post by: AH on December 11, 2013, 18:57:10 pm
Maxispin

Thanks for walking through the add product

Not really functional at this stage.

Suggest that

1. Hit Add new product
2. Prompts for SKU - enter the sku (possibly allows search from dropdown list that shows SKU and Description in dropdown)
3. This populates the relevant order line information for this sku including a set of prices
4. These can be edited before saving as new order line

Similar to the functionality of VM1 that never made it to VM2

Also like to see the delete order line functionality introduced.

Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.26d
Post by: AH on February 04, 2014, 21:02:27 pm
Any news on this feature - still very not very usable in 2.0.26d

It is not functional for a live shop at present
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2.0.26d
Post by: e-trader on March 13, 2014, 10:03:48 am
Any news on this feature - still very not very usable in 2.0.26d

It is not functional for a live shop at present

I'm also interested in this...
Title: Re: Add products to an order in the backend of VirtueMart 2
Post by: Robert_ITMan on May 24, 2014, 18:17:14 pm
I too would like to see the back end order editing improved - see new post: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=124027.0