VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Language/Translations => Topic started by: rdcustom on April 07, 2020, 12:09:29 pm

Title: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 07, 2020, 12:09:29 pm
Hello All.
i noticed that in my store, all Virtuemart strings are not translated properly.
The website has two languages, Italian and English and all is configured properly (it used to work in the past).

If I browse in Italian, all is perfectly translated (also overrides), but when I switch to English, all VM strings are not translated until I change the device language (ex. pc, Mac, iPhone).
In the store, all strings and articles from Joomla are properly translated, but all VM strings remain in the device language (ex. "add to cart, price etc.)

The product description is properly translated.

website is www.rdcustom.it

I don't know when this happened, but I think is from 3.6.10 update.

Things I tried so far:
-reinstalling virtuemart and joomla
-reinstalling languages
-checked all languages settings

but nothing

Anyone can help please?
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: Jörgen on April 07, 2020, 13:02:04 pm
If I switch to italian I get a lot VM text in english, add to cart, on site installation etc. How much of this is actually translated ?
Can not discover any other peculiarites from my test. FireFox 74.0

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 07, 2020, 13:08:46 pm
If I switch to italian I get a lot VM text in english, add to cart, on site installation etc. How much of this is actually translated ?
Can not discover any other peculiarites from my test. FireFox 74.0

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi

Yes, it is exactly the problem I have.
You have the system language set to English and when switching to Italian, those strings are not translated.
These strings are stuck in Italian or in English based on the device language.
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: Jörgen on April 07, 2020, 15:06:04 pm
According to my tests the are ALWAYS in english, no matter what language. Are You also relying on some GOOGLE translation ?

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 07, 2020, 16:16:50 pm
According to my tests the are ALWAYS in english, no matter what language. Are You also relying on some GOOGLE translation ?

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
No, all translations are properly done.
Try to change your pc language in Italian and you will see that all text will be in Italian.
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: jjk on April 07, 2020, 18:17:37 pm
I would suggest to use Joomla's 'Debug Language', check if the correct language files are loaded and check for parsing errors in the italian language files.
And perhaps in Joomla >   Plugins: System - Language Filter, turn off automatic language change.

 I hate for example german websites which always switch me to English, because my PC operating system is set to English.  ;)
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 07, 2020, 18:50:59 pm
I would suggest to use Joomla's 'Debug Language', check if the correct language files are loaded and check for parsing errors in the italian language files.
And perhaps in Joomla >   Plugins: System - Language Filter, turn off automatic language change.

 I hate for example german websites which always switch me to English, because my PC operating system is set to English.  ;)

yes, I've already tried and the language filter works properly.
All Joomla words are translated, only Virtuemart strings are not working (see attachment)
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: jjk on April 07, 2020, 21:22:40 pm
I wonder why mootools is still loaded on your site. Joomla doesn't use it anymore. Do you use the latest Italian language packs from here:
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 08, 2020, 14:11:23 pm
I wonder why mootools is still loaded on your site. Joomla doesn't use it anymore. Do you use the latest Italian language packs from here:
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

yes, the language pack is installed.
Mootools is loaded due to Minitek Wall component.
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 08, 2020, 16:05:40 pm
Attached some clear screenshots of the same page:

-Computer and website English: all okay
-Computer and website Italian: all okay
-Computer Italian and website English: Description and all Joomla strings okay, Virtuemart String remain in Italian
-Computer English and website Italian: Description and all Joomla strings okay, Virtuemart String remain in English
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: pinochico on April 08, 2020, 16:57:11 pm
Pls contact developer your template.
I see you use flexible template (https://www.joomla51.com/joomla-templates/j51-novah) and I think for Add to Cart template use custom sublayout.

Translate for Virtuemart for Italy is ok:
https://www.rdcustom.it/language/it-IT/it-IT.com_virtuemart.ini
COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_ADD_TO="Nel carrello"
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 08, 2020, 17:01:39 pm
Pls contact developer your template.
I see you use flexible template and I think for Add to Cart template use custom sublayout.

Translate for Virtuemart for Italy is ok:
https://www.rdcustom.it/language/it-IT/it-IT.com_virtuemart.ini
COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_ADD_TO="Nel carrello"
I already tried, now both plugin and /html folder are disabled but as you can see the problem is still there.
Is not related (in fact, this "Flexible" template is on my website from 5 years
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: rdcustom on April 08, 2020, 17:19:22 pm
Another try.
Removed template from all store pages.
Here's the result. it is not a template-related problem
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: pinochico on April 08, 2020, 17:51:09 pm
Really?

pls send me info where is:
Quote
i noticed that in my store, all Virtuemart strings are not translated properly.

there:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=144635.0;attach=70831

or there:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=144635.0;attach=70835


I see all VM translate in IT.
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: JCSL on May 27, 2020, 12:33:54 pm
VirtueMart 3.8.2 10325, PHP Version    7.2.29 , Joomla! Version    Joomla! 3.9.0 Stable [ Amani ] 30-October-2018 14:00 GMT

I have same issue or similar I think https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=144938.0

Did you manage to solve it ?
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: jenkinhill on May 27, 2020, 13:51:54 pm
Joomla! 3.9.0 Stable [ Amani ] 30-October-2018 14:00 GMT

Yur current Joomla version should be 3.9.18  - this contains bug and security fixes, updates are released for a reason.
Title: Re: 3.6.10 Translation Issue
Post by: pinochico on May 27, 2020, 13:55:08 pm
You send only Front End Result.
You don't send setup for:
- joomla language content
- virtuemart language
- virtuemart product detail in en nad italy
- virtuemart mysql table for italy (if create and exist)

Do you think that I have magic ball where is problem? :) Send pls another info and I can try analyse.