Author Topic: HACK: AutoGen Metadata Metatag. Product, Category. Title, Description, Keywords  (Read 403173 times)

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
Txs for your accolades Roderick1 :).

If you find time, please remember to review this hack here:
http://extensions.virtuemart.net/index.php?option=com_sobi2&sobi2Task=sobi2Details&catid=6&sobi2Id=328&Itemid=

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10431
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
cant figure out how to add a review on there. There is a button for "add entry" but I think thats for adding an extension.

I cant even figure out how to donate to virtuemart.
I have looked many times, and give up every time.

Its so confusing

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
Hehe, agreed.
The review option is at the bottom of the specific extension page, but does not work in certain browsers... So you might not see a button. You must be logged in as well.

To donate to VM, I have no idea either! I haven't come across a link to do it.

nimbusc

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hello,

Firstly thank you for this great hack!

I updated to latest version using the provided sql update and I was getting an error in phpadmin I had to remove the parenthesis in all requests for it to actually work. eg. ALTER TABLE `jos_vm_product_metakeys` >>>(<<< anyway all is good now.

What I really want to know though is if you can do something about my problem concerning multi lingual sites. If "Turn On Manual Edit of Meta Title/Description/Keywords/" is NOT ticked my meta tags use the language provided and everything works great but when I tick it to manually tinker the auto-generated tags on the second language

a) I only get the default language tags when I view the source
b) Is there a possibility to manually edit second language tags?

Thanks again for a great hack hoping for vm intergration ;)

Edit: Edited text added "NOT"

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
nimbusc...
I am assuming you meant:
If "Turn On Manual Edit of Meta Title/Description/Keywords/" is NOT ticked my meta tags use the language provided and everything works great. Correct?

I haven't worked with multi-lingual before in VM. What are you using, JoomFish? I'm sure I can work something out, but I'd need to figure out how the multilingual thing works first with VM.

nimbusc

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Forrest you are correct my mistake if manual edit is NOT ticked. I am using joomfish. Multilingual translations work with a joomfish content elements file you copy paste inside joomfish folder. I attached one for you to take a look.
I wouldnt even mind going inside the sqlDB and editing there manually if the autogenerated translations could be seen when manual edit is on.

cheers

[attachment cleanup by admin]

mitico_good

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Quote
query SQL:

-- Metadata hack to update and add tables
-- --------------------------------------
--
-- Add columns for title, meta description and keywords
-- for product
--
ALTER TABLE `jos_vm_product` ADD COLUMN `product_title` text,
ADD COLUMN `product_metadesc` text,
ADD COLUMN `product_metakey` text,
ADD COLUMN `product_abstract` text,
ADD COLUMN `product_canonical` text;

Messaggio di MySQL: Documentazione
#1060 - Duplicate column name 'product_abstract'

now I no longer stored as meta tags.
I also tried to delete the changes to the table and do it all but
the result is always the same

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
nimbusc: I'll have to take a look at this in a few days.

mitico_good: I do not fully understand you.
Quote
#1060 - Duplicate column name 'product_abstract'
If you are having problems... the error says is all. Looks like you already have a column called product_abstract in jos_vm_product. This is not a standard VM column, so if it already exists, you have installed another hack that installed this, or you already ran the sql, removed the other columns, but did not remove this one.

tekilas

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
I have a problem ...

no settings will be saved "Turn On Manual Edit of Meta Title / Description / Keywords / Abstract (Global)" and all the global settings.

Any ideas?

On the other hand, there is some way to know if it installed the hack?

Thanks

PD use VirtueMart 1.1.4 and Joomla 1.5.14

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
make sure your jos_vm_product_metakeys and your jos_vm_product_ketakeys have an mid of 1. Just edit it and put a "1" if it does not.

tekilas

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Excuse me, but I do not understand what you say (my English is not the best) :(

second, you mean to jos_vm_product_metakeys and jos_vm_category_metakeys (because you put your jos_vm_product_metakeys and jos_vm_product_ketakeys)

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
yes metakeys. These are TABLES in your database. Please look at those to tables and make sure the only entries in them have an MID (name of table column) set to 1 (a value of "1").

nuller-joe

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 46
The "Remove words from keywords metatag (comma seperated):" doesnt work for me. The words i put in there doesnt get removed from the keywords metatag

Davec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Great Hack -

Dave

Forrest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1972
  • Me and my baby
    • Web Developer
nuller-joe, the latest rev?

Did it ever work for you?

Can you confirm that all words you put it there... NONE of them are removed? Please try more words.

I have heard this from one other user. Works ok for me, though I have noticed an inconsistency from time to time and I have not figured it out.