Author Topic: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)  (Read 18650 times)

animeunleashed

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« on: July 15, 2009, 03:43:21 am »
I just noticed that add-to-cart feature does not work using Firefox.(when you click on it nothing happens) Several days back I had the same problem but with Safari.
Solution for Safari. http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=41145.0

The website in question is: http://www.onecco.net
Versions: Joomla 1.5.12 & Virtuemart 1.1.3

The last thing I remember doing is, adding advertising ads(above search & below featured products scroller) Of course, I removed the ads, and still the same.

indego

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 16:29:09 pm »
I've got the same problem. The problem is when I use Firefox 3.5, the Add button doesn't work. But the button doesn't work when i write address without www, when address is www.domain.com then everything is ok, but when address is domain.com then button doesn't work. My friend has the same problem, but vice versa, when he write www then button doesn't work.

Joomla 1.5.11 & VM 1.1.3

munishsethi777

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Joomla VirtueMarter
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2009, 20:39:56 pm »
try making changes into the virtuemart.cfg or configuration where you specify the hostname.. maybe that willhelp.

indego

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2009, 23:37:47 pm »
I tried and nothing. Check please yours VM's with Firefox 3.5, I think its global problem, not only mine.
Button "add to cart" is working when i buy some products from modules (for exaple: mod_virtuemart_latestprod, etc), but not from main product list.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28461
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2009, 10:58:33 am »
This appears to be a new security setting in FF3.5. You must use either http://www.domain or http://domain consistently throughout a site. So use .htaccess to ensure one or the other.

This does not just affect some VirtueMart sites, but also any other where there is a form whose action is to a different domain url than that of the page displaying the form.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

indego

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2009, 14:43:24 pm »
Thank you for your advices. In my opinion this is meaningless. I can't talk to customers "type url only with www, because if not you can't buy in this shop". If someone would like to buy something and button will be not working, then he will go to another shop. I think its not a firefox problem, only VM has problem with firefox. Modules are working well, only buttons from main VM have problems.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28461
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2009, 10:41:38 am »
See what I said earlier. use .htaccess to ensure one or the other
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

indego

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2009, 10:20:30 am »
What changes do I need? How to configure .htaccess?
In my opinion it's problem with Ajax, because when I turned off Ajax in VM then peages didn't refresh and products were added to the cart.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28461
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2009, 12:31:48 pm »
With FF3.5 there was also an issue with the new jit TraceMonkey JavaSCript engine. This is fixed in FF 3.5.1 which is available now.

For .htaccess I use this format on all my sites as a matter of routine:

Code: [Select]

Options +SymlinksIfOwnerMatch

RewriteEngine on

# Redirect addresses which are not www.domain.co.uk
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}   !^www\.domain\.co\.uk$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$         http://www.domain.co.uk/$1 [R=301,L]



Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

indego

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2009, 15:58:26 pm »
Thank you very, very much Jenkinhill. It's work :)

sohoerik01

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2009, 20:52:26 pm »
jenkinhill,

You are the man!  This solved a lot of bugs for us.

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Erik

weasel

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2009, 00:22:12 am »

With FF3.5 there was also an issue with the new jit TraceMonkey JavaSCript engine. This is fixed in FF 3.5.1 which is available now.

For .htaccess I use this format on all my sites as a matter of routine:

Code: [Select]

Options +SymlinksIfOwnerMatch

RewriteEngine on

# Redirect addresses which are not www.domain.co.uk
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}   !^www\.domain\.co\.uk$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$         http://www.domain.co.uk/$1 [R=301,L]





Looks like a good solution, but just one question Jenkinhill

how does this affect the https: (ssl) addressing?

will the above .htaccess function okay when it goes into the https setting or would it be wise to make the last line include the https..?
eg. RewriteRule ^(.*)$         https://www.domain.co.uk/$1 [R=301,L]

I'm no coder so thought I'd ask this question

cheers

Ric

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28461
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2009, 09:08:16 am »
Redirect for ssl does depend on http/https server setup but this has worked for me with a port check.

Code: [Select]
Options +SymlinksIfOwnerMatch

RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.domain\.com$
RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT}s ^(443(s)|[0-9]+s)$
RewriteRule (.*) http%2://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

natalie

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2009, 15:24:36 pm »
I think this will be the perfect fix as soon as I can figure out exactly where to add that modification in my .htaccess file. I've tried several different options, but keep getting an internal server error on my site when I upload the new file. Would you mind walking me through where to place that bit of code in the file? I already have this bit of code:
Code: [Select]
Options +FollowSymLinks

#
#  mod_rewrite in use

RewriteEngine On


Should your fix replace this? Or go somewhere else in addition to this? Thanks for any help you can offer!

~Natalie

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28461
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Can not add products to cart on (Firefox)
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2009, 09:01:52 am »
Ask your host tech people for the correct syntax to use on their servers. The code shown earlier should work if you replace your current code.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30