Author Topic: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds  (Read 1150 times)

samlf3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« on: November 19, 2018, 20:59:41 pm »
VM3.4.2
Hello, we have a site that has over 700 products, and all the products have the weight set as Kilograms-and we need it to be set to Pounds instead.

I have tried setting the default in the admin panel to pounds-which didn't work, I then tried setting it to ounces (then save)-then to pounds (then save), but it doesn't change any of the 700 products. I looked in admin/vmcfg, but it doesn't look like it is in there.
 Any help would be very much appreciated!
 Sam

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10137
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2018, 21:26:56 pm »
are u expecting them to be converted?

They are just number fields and unit fields (label) ...  there is no calc

you will need to do some fancy sql calc direct in the db if u want conversion or export to xls and convert and reimport
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

samlf3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Re: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2018, 21:57:23 pm »
I just want all the products to be set as Pounds instead of Kilograms. The weight is set fine, it was an import problem I guess. The actual weight is fine, as it is in pounds already not kilograms. It's 1.25. I don't need the numbers to change-just the drop-down from kilogram to pounds is all.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10137
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2018, 22:32:41 pm »
there is an entry for each product weight unit

field product_weight_uom

you need to do an update in the table

something like

UPDATE `#__virtuemart_products` SET `product_weight_uom`= 'KG'
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4448
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2018, 02:02:49 am »
you can mass update it using VM Be Pro(you can batch process 1000 products per page maximum)
See https://shop.st42.fr/en/products/vm-be-pro-batch-product-edit.htm

samlf3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Re: Mass Change Kilogram to Pounds
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2018, 15:14:53 pm »
there is an entry for each product weight unit

field product_weight_uom

you need to do an update in the table

something like

UPDATE `#__virtuemart_products` SET `product_weight_uom`= 'KG'

Thank you so much, this did the trick! Have a great week and holiday!
Thread Closed!