Author Topic: Multi vendor issues  (Read 2311 times)

Marion

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • A beginner
Multi vendor issues
« on: January 17, 2018, 12:42:46 pm »
Hi

I did much multi vendor testing in the last couple of days and I'm trying to get back to single vendor mode, by switching from "administered multi vendor" to "none" in the tab shop in the configuration.
There were several issues I had to deal with. In order to know more about multi-vendor mode, I'd like to discuss the issues with you. I'm working with German administration, so please correct me if I don't have the right expression for everything.

  • In the configuration it says that multi vendor is still experimental. I've found multi vendor questions in this forum as far back as 2014. Is it correct that multi vendor is currently still in experimental mode, after 4 years' development?
  • Switching back from multi to single vendor didn't work smoothly for me. I switched off the vendor option in both users that were vendors. Then I got the warning
    Quote
    no vendor ID provided
    . Without multi user on, the column for vendor was missing in the vmuser table. There's a possibility to enter an ID in the DB tools. I tried to enter the the UserID. I then got the warning:
    Quote
    The user with virtuemart_user_id = 341 is set as vendor, but has no referencing vendorId.
    So I entered vendor ID instead of user ID and got the additional warning:
    Quote
    You are using single vendor mode, but it seems more than one user is set as vendor
    Is there any possibility to switch back to single user mode without direct manipulation of the database entries?
  • Having a look in the database tables was rather confusing. There's a a table "virtuemart_vmusers", matching users and virtuemart_vendors and containing some more information like shipping id and alike. There's a table "virtuemart_vendors" with verndorID and currencies. In single vendor mode, there seems to be a single entry with ID=1. Then there's "virtuemart_vendor_users", matching users and virtuemart_vendors again, which after switching between single / multi vendor does not have the same combinations of userID and vendorID as "virtuemart_vmusers". Being a database speshitpillt, it seems to me that there is a dangerous redundancy in your data which is leading to errors when switching single/ multi vendor.

Are these known issues? Do I get something wrong? Is there a clean solution to find back to single vendor mode?

Marion

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • A beginner
Re: Multi vendor issues
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2018, 12:50:24 pm »
Sorry, forgot: Joomla 3.8.3, VirtueMart 3.2.13.

Marion

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • A beginner
Re: Multi vendor issues
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2018, 11:10:40 am »
Is there anybody able to answer some of the questions?

It's not possible either to put anything into the cart. When I'm clicking the "into the cart"-button of a product, VM jumps to the cart, which is empty, only sending costs are provided. On the product list and product details, the "-" and "+"-buttons do not work either. I think all this may be related to the general multi / single vendor issue, but I'm not sure.

If anybody wants to have a look: http://midivins.myhostpoint.ch/de/webshop/webshop-schweiz

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10579
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.8
Re: Multi vendor issues
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2018, 12:52:47 pm »
you need to fix all JS errors before JS triggered functions like add to cart and quantity will work

GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers https://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
https://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Marion

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • A beginner
Re: Multi vendor issues
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 14:17:29 pm »
Hi GJC

Thank you!!!  :)

So the cart problem was no VM problem after all - could have searched forever...

You were using a tool I could have used myself, it's a standard browser feature. So this not only solved my problem, but additionally will help me to help myself in the future.  :)

Only the multi / single vendor issue stays the same, maybe some of the VM developers might take a look at it?

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10579
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.8.8
Re: Multi vendor issues
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2018, 14:29:44 pm »
You will find the the tools provided in Firefox IMHO a lot better and easier to use by the way

to open quickly right click any where and inspect element

so Chrome for browsing -- Firefox for development
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers https://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
https://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation