News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

Need help on a strange shop

Started by PaulDRP, January 03, 2013, 11:20:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PaulDRP

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working on my first Virtuemart shop and its a doozy.

I'm not a programmer and have 0.5% experience with php.

I've managed to get most of it working, most of the time through sheer luck but now I've run into some issues where I could really use some help.

The shop needs to have 3 "routes" so to speak, there's the route for a private customer who orders from somewhere thats not the USA. There's a business route where a company can fill in a contactform and request a custom price application.
Finally there's the USA only route, as the name suggests its for USA customers only and has a fixed price.

Now this way of doing things has been making working on this shop a frustrating experience.

I'm hoping the good people on this forum might be able to help me out with some problems I've been having.

1 - When I click the link for the USA Only route the currency has to automatically switch from Euro's to Dollars. My cliënt does not want to use the currency switch.
I've kinda fixed this by styling the currency switch to look like a regular button and removing Euro as an option. Then I hid the dropdown list and changed the button so it re-directs to the USA category page.

The problem with this is it changes the entire shop to dollars, something my client is not going to like. So I need a way to maybe duplicate this currency switch but change it around so it changes the shop back to Euro's and re-directs to the private category page.

Anybody have any idea about how I might get this to work?

2 - When a customer has selected the business route and filled in the contactform he gets acces to the business category page. I need a way to password protect this category page.