VM 2.0.12f , Joomla 2.5.7. Is there a way to manage module visibility on the page served up by clicking View Cart (option=com_virtuemart&view=cart) from either the pop up window after product addition or the link in the mini cart? I'm using the full width of the page to display cart contents and I need to shut off the side modules.
I have a menu item set to view cart already and can control the modules for it - but not the system generated version because there is no item ID.
You can edit your template module position to not diplay on cart page
http://www.kaizenmediaworks.com/virtuemart-template-and-module-control
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') { ?>
module code here
<?php } ?>
Thanks! What file does this PHP go into? And, looking through the link you sent, I only see how to create module positions - not disable or remove them. Say I have a VM cart module, named Show Your Cart displayed in sidebar-a. How would I hide it in option=com_virtuemart&view=cart?
It would be great if each view had an ID so we could manage module display through the editor. The new Joomla display/ Hide tools are fantastic.
actually this is easier
do a template override
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=90935.0
of the cart module
mod_virtuemart_cart/default.php
AFTER this
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access');
past this
if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') {
then at the bottom of the file
paste this
<?php } ?>
That worked. So - I'd have to do this for each module I don't want displayed in cart view. Drag! But, I appreciate the fix. Thanks.
Hello,
You could use alternative advanced module manager or metamod ... both have a free version. The first one is easier imho. Both have a free version that can done what you want and a lot more...
Regards
woooo. Never used Metamod before. Looks great! A bit of a learning curve... So - I would use if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') { in Metamods PHP field?
Look at the metamod recipes to help work out what to put in the PHP.
Quote from: PRO on November 01, 2012, 14:41:52 PM
You can edit your template module position to not diplay on cart page
http://www.kaizenmediaworks.com/virtuemart-template-and-module-control
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') { ?>
module code here
<?php } ?>
I looked through the provided codes from kaizenmediaworks.com and I find them very useful.
But like the thread opener already asked:
Where do I have to put the provided codes into? :-[
Quote from: Menace on December 05, 2012, 21:23:40 PM
Quote from: PRO on November 01, 2012, 14:41:52 PM
You can edit your template module position to not diplay on cart page
http://www.kaizenmediaworks.com/virtuemart-template-and-module-control
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') { ?>
module code here
<?php } ?>
I looked through the provided codes from kaizenmediaworks.com and I find them very useful.
But like the thread opener already asked:
Where do I have to put the provided codes into? :-[
you can do this in your template
OR:
open the module/tmpl/default.php
put this at the top
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')!='cart') { ?>
then this at the bottom
<?php } ?>
make sure you do not have any open php tags before you put this
Thx Pro for fast response,
It was a general question about the codes on kaizenmediaworks.
Perhaps I don't understand correctly what you mean by "you can do this in your template"
Let's say I want to use the function of this code:
QuoteCreate a module position for all categories
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')=='category') { ?>
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
<?php } ?>
In what file do I have to add this to?
And additionally:
Wouldn't it be the same if I just insert
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
to the
template/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php
in exactly the place I want to show a module, create new module and assign it to "categorymodule"?
Quote from: Menace on December 05, 2012, 21:45:19 PM
Thx Pro for fast response,
It was a general question about the codes on kaizenmediaworks.
Perhaps I don't understand correctly what you mean by "you can do this in your template"
Let's say I want to use the function of this code:
QuoteCreate a module position for all categories
<?php if (JRequest::getVar('view')=='category') { ?>
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
<?php } ?>
In what file do I have to add this to?
And additionally:
Wouldn't it be the same if I just insert
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
to the
template/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php
in exactly the place I want to show a module, create new module and assign it to "categorymodule"?
Your JOOMLA template has module positions, and creates them.
SO, to create a new module position, it has to be in the joomla
templates/Your- template/index.php
You cannot create module positions FROM template/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php
OK, thank you.
So my problem of misunderstanding might be because I am using a JAT3 Framework based template, which means index.php of the template just loads the JAT3 Framework and has pretty much nothing else in it.
Nevertheless I can say that this:
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
inserted in my /category/default.php override gives me the output of any module I assign the position "categorymodule" to.
Quote from: Menace on December 05, 2012, 23:17:24 PM
OK, thank you.
So my problem of misunderstanding might be because I am using a JAT3 Framework based template, which means index.php of the template just loads the JAT3 Framework and has pretty much nothing else in it.
Nevertheless I can say that this:
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
inserted in my /category/default.php override gives me the output of any module I assign the position "categorymodule" to.
really?
I hope you're not making fun of me... :)
If not:
Yes, I use this to insert a div that displays a module with subcategories on my category pages just between the category name and the products.
<div id="catmod"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="categorymodule" /></div>
It works an several, if not all, VM views.
"categorymodule" can be replaced by anything you want as long as you assign the same name for the moduleposition manually.
And still I would much more like to use the kaizenmediaworks.com codes but it seems like I don't get that working. My knowledge is too small for that I guess.
Let's say I will one day find out where to add those codes and I create a moduleposition for all product pages. Where will those positions be? After content? before content?