Author Topic: copies of exactly the same product  (Read 369 times)

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
copies of exactly the same product
« on: September 06, 2017, 17:20:57 pm »
I try to add products to Virtuemart, but always get two (or more) copies of exactly the same product - see attached file. I have installed Joomla twice, but still get this error. What am I doing wrong?

Whoever helps me with this problem will be today's great hero

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26360
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 18:11:42 pm »
First:  http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=128401.0

Are there two products in the backend, too?  Do two products show when you use Protostar?
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.4 on Joomla 3.8.2 PHP 7.0.23

Testing VM3.2.5 on J!3.8.2

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 18:26:28 pm »
My first post here, so sorry for missing versions.
Joomla is 3.7.5 and Virtual Map is version 3.2.4.
And yes, there are two exact copies of a product even when I test with Protostar

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2017, 20:57:45 pm »
Do you use some custom template in the backend ?

Are there really extra copies in the database, do You see more than one copy int the backend, do they have different item ids ?

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2017, 21:30:38 pm »
Hi and thank you. You are right, there are no extra copies in the database, and only one item id. The question is what it may be due to?

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2017, 22:10:48 pm »
My guess is Your template.

Have You really tested with Protostar ?

How does it look with more than one product ?

Live URL ?

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2017, 22:17:18 pm »
Yes, I have tried with Protostar. If I have two different products, I have two products of each. So strange ...

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26360
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2017, 23:07:19 pm »
OK, your template hides the title above those products. Using the url http://appmaker4u.com/2017/teknikhouse2/index.php/mobilreservdelar?tmpl=component&template=protostar ( forces protostar to effectively use the default VM templates) shows the titles:  Produkter  for the top one and Senaste produkter (latest products) for the second.

You need to correctly configure the layout of the page, probably with the menu configuration.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.4 on Joomla 3.8.2 PHP 7.0.23

Testing VM3.2.5 on J!3.8.2

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2017, 23:23:27 pm »
Thank u so much, but I do not understand what I should do. I can see I have Product and Latest Product, bu what shall I do with the Menu configuration?

cocacolacowboys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • A beginner
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2017, 23:39:31 pm »
Thank you again. Finally after 10 hours  it is fixed.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9372
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: copies of exactly the same product
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2017, 09:03:06 am »
I hope you did this via the settings. There is no need to hack,... btw use the "omit" feature, then products do not appear more than one time on the screen
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/