News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

Shipping module dev - Basic questions

Started by blackhatbrigade, March 24, 2010, 06:06:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackhatbrigade

I need to make a proprietary shipping module for VM.  I'm still new to VM and only partially familiar with Joomla!.  I understand Joomla! questions are out of scope here, but I'm thinking my questions will be pertinent to only VM.

1) I found shipping modules (forgive me if I'm using the wrong word for that) in /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/plugins/shipping/    I'm mostly concerned with the USPS module because it's functionality is very close to what I need.  Is this the only place for shipping mod files?

2) Is there any online documentation to what product information I can access from within the shipping mod scope?  I obviously need to pull weight, size, etc., but I also need to pull custom product attributes (for LTL shipping).  Any redirection to a good online doc would be appreciated (The VM API seems to be a little out of date... that or I'm not seeing the whole picture with it).

I apologize if this is a redundant post.  I tried to search for the info before posting.  I didn't have much luck.  I would be grateful if someone has any links to resources that may help.

blackhatbrigade

Figured it'd be in the wiki, but it was somewhere else.  For anyone else looking for the online documentation for shipping development...  http://virtuemart.net/documentation/Developer_Manual/Shipping_Modules.html

blackhatbrigade

I've been working with this for a while now and wanted to do a follow up, plus ask another question.

The best documentation I've found on Shipping Module development to date is: http://virtuemart.net/documentation/Developer_Manual/Shipping_Module_API.html  Which is part of the on-site manual.  It does specify the locations of the pertinent files to be added.  The other link I posted had some terribly out of date information.