Author Topic: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.  (Read 426007 times)

Micha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #135 on: March 08, 2009, 13:34:35 pm »
Oh my god!

I have found a solution for the IE7 problem in my shops after some days investigate now:

File: browse_1.php

I have included all DIVs in TABLES and my shops work now faultlessly and fast. Obviously the IE7 has a problem with these DIVs.

Old code:
Code: [Select]
<?php if( !defined'_VALID_MOS' ) && !defined'_JEXEC' ) ) die( 'Direct Access to '.basename(__FILE__).' is not allowed.' );
mm_showMyFileName(__FILE__);
 
?>


<div class="browseProductContainer">
   <div class="browseProductImageContainer">
  
   <script type="text/javascript">//<![CDATA[
     document.write('<a href="javascript:void window.open(\'<?php echo $product_full_image ?>\', \'win2\', \'status=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,titlebar=no,menubar=no,resizable=yes,width=<?php echo $full_image_width ?>,height=<?php echo $full_image_height ?>,directories=no,location=no\');">');
     document.write( '<?php echo ps_product::image_tag$product_thumb_image'class="browseProductImage" border="0" title="'.$product_name.'" alt="'.$product_name .'"' ?></a>' );
     //]]>
   </script>
  
   <noscript>
      <a href="<?php echo $product_full_image ?>" target="_blank" title="<?php echo $product_name ?>"><?php echo ps_product::image_tag$product_thumb_image'class="browseProductImage" border="1" title="'.$product_name.'" alt="'.$product_name .'"' ?></a>
</noscript>

   </div>
     
   <div class="browsePriceContainer">
  
      <span class="browseProductSKU">&nbsp;Art.-Nr.: <?php echo $product_sku ?></span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseProductTitle"><?php echo $product_name ?><span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseProductDescription">
      <?php echo $product_s_desc ?>
      <br /><br />
      <a href="<?php echo $product_flypage ?>" title="<?php echo $product_details ?>">
      <?php echo $product_details ?> &gt;&gt;&gt;</a></span>
      <br /><br />
      <span class="browseProductPrice"><?php echo $product_price ?></span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseAddToCartContainer">
      <?php echo $form_addtocart ?>
      </span>
     
   </div>
  
</div>


New code:
Code: [Select]
<?php if( !defined'_VALID_MOS' ) && !defined'_JEXEC' ) ) die( 'Direct Access to '.basename(__FILE__).' is not allowed.' );
mm_showMyFileName(__FILE__);
 
?>


<div class="browseProductContainer">

<table width="100%" border="0"><tr><td>

   <div class="browseProductImageContainer">
  
   <script type="text/javascript">//<![CDATA[
     document.write('<a href="javascript:void window.open(\'<?php echo $product_full_image ?>\', \'win2\', \'status=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,titlebar=no,menubar=no,resizable=yes,width=<?php echo $full_image_width ?>,height=<?php echo $full_image_height ?>,directories=no,location=no\');">');
     document.write( '<?php echo ps_product::image_tag$product_thumb_image'class="browseProductImage" border="0" title="'.$product_name.'" alt="'.$product_name .'"' ?></a>' );
     //]]>
   </script>
  
   <noscript>
      <a href="<?php echo $product_full_image ?>" target="_blank" title="<?php echo $product_name ?>"><?php echo ps_product::image_tag$product_thumb_image'class="browseProductImage" border="1" title="'.$product_name.'" alt="'.$product_name .'"' ?></a>
</noscript>

   </div>
</td><td>       
   <div class="browsePriceContainer">
  
      <span class="browseProductSKU">&nbsp;Art.-Nr.: <?php echo $product_sku ?></span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseProductTitle"><?php echo $product_name ?><span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseProductDescription">
      <?php echo $product_s_desc ?>
      <br /><br />
      <a href="<?php echo $product_flypage ?>" title="<?php echo $product_details ?>">
      <?php echo $product_details ?> &gt;&gt;&gt;</a></span>
      <br /><br />
      <span class="browseProductPrice"><?php echo $product_price ?></span>
      <br />
      <span class="browseAddToCartContainer">
      <?php echo $form_addtocart ?>
      </span>
     
   </div>
  
</td></tr></table>
  
</div>

Of course I also have made all changes which were already posted here before. Unfortunately, I do not know whether these have contributed somehow for the solution.


Does it work also if you use browse_2.php ??

Micha

bulesz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 194
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #136 on: March 08, 2009, 13:49:02 pm »
buddy...what do you mean using browse_2.php???

If you mean VM browse tmeplate, I am always using my custom templates...

Before fixing I had problem only at admin side...

tillo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #137 on: March 08, 2009, 17:22:38 pm »
Why do you quote my whole posting?

The IE7 has heavy problems with any DIV-styled templates. Test it out. Insert tables into your browse_x.php an hope this fix your problem. ;)



sitebuildernow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Coburn Enterprises - "Better Everything"
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #138 on: March 09, 2009, 09:45:19 am »
Where are the "attached files"? I am sorry if I am being dense but I don't see an attachment to this post.
Thanks,
Harmony

[/quote]
Please try the new attach files and reply here.
Coburn Enterprises
"Better Everything"
Website Developer / SEO and SEM Expert
Joomla! and Virtuemart (current versions always)

Michael West

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
    • The Website
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #139 on: March 09, 2009, 17:52:15 pm »
Try posting a link to your website in your profile, or a link to the error page if possible.

A picture is worth a thousand words. For XP get http://www.bhelpuri.net/Snippy/SnippyDownload.htm, or...

Windows Vista has a Snipping Tool in the Accessories area of the Start Button.

"We look for things that make us go, computer things."
(StarTrek NG: Pakleds Episode http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lxIL1WlxSQ).


Have you read the manual? http://virtuemart.net/documentation/User_Manual/index.html I did, huh?

jjoerugged

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #140 on: March 10, 2009, 14:18:36 pm »
Does anyone know if these patches work for IE6?  I'm getting the same Operation Aborted errors as those running IE7. Can I load them on my version?

Can anyone recommend a reliable substitution to VirtueMart? The time wasted is costing me money. The free software isn't really that free.  I'm sure getting my moneies worth. ;D

Thanks for the help the forums are great!

aravot

  • Peter
  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2874
    • VirtueMart Extensions
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #141 on: March 10, 2009, 17:35:15 pm »
Can anyone recommend a reliable substitution to VirtueMart? The time wasted is costing me money. The free software isn't really that free.  I'm sure getting my moneies worth. ;D

Google/search for the term(s) "ecommerce, ecart, estore, shopping+cart" you will find many alternatives.

Goodbye and good luck on your business.

wivelden

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #142 on: March 11, 2009, 03:00:39 am »
The amount of times I have got frustrated with problems with Virtuemart are endless. However all problems can be solved one way or another. I have put too much time into adding products that for me to go to another cart would be insane. Besides I really like Virtuemart compared to the others. Im sticking with this because I know that it can only get better.

Michael West

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
    • The Website
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #143 on: March 11, 2009, 03:39:04 am »
 ::)I thought this would fix my website by patching Line 261:
/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/mainframe.class.php and there was a copy attached. But, one of my customers reported it did not.

Please refer to this topic for confirmation: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=39592.new;topicseen#new of the change in the code.

As you can see from the picture below, the biggest problem is Microsoft IE picky use of code. The error even shows up on the Apple Store website.


Perhaps Peter can add this to the patch?

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Try posting a link to your website in your profile, or a link to the error page if possible.

A picture is worth a thousand words. For XP get http://www.bhelpuri.net/Snippy/SnippyDownload.htm, or...

Windows Vista has a Snipping Tool in the Accessories area of the Start Button.

"We look for things that make us go, computer things."
(StarTrek NG: Pakleds Episode http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lxIL1WlxSQ).


Have you read the manual? http://virtuemart.net/documentation/User_Manual/index.html I did, huh?

belindab

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 103
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #144 on: March 11, 2009, 17:25:15 pm »
Hi, I am delighted that you have got a fix!
Can you confirm that we now have a complete solution to the front and back end Operation Aborted issue for 1.1.3 - and if so could some kind soul take the trouble to put up a clear new post with the instructions to be followed, or even better -  would it be possible to make a release 1.1.4 with this included?

grayceworks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #145 on: March 12, 2009, 01:53:50 am »
Used the attached files from the first post and cleared cache with NO EFFECT. Only having this problem on the backend in IE7 when I try to edit..


Used the attached file mainframe.class.php and now I can edit, however every page in the admin of vm gives a runtime error: Line 61 "Ext undefined" for this line:

Code: [Select]
<script type="text/javascript">Ext.BLANK_IMAGE_URL = "http://localhost/components/com_virtuemart/js/extjs2/images/default/s.gif";
Never had an issue on the front end display. Will just have to continue using FF, but when I'm at different locations working, they don't always have FF installed... Is there any update on this? This is on a local install and on an online install both.
searching for solutions
====================================
Joomla 1.5.9
VirtueMart 1.1.3
Linux/Apache|PHP5|mySQL5
Firefox 3.0.6 | Internet Exploder 7 
Windoze XP sp3 | Suse 10

Michael West

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
    • The Website
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #146 on: March 12, 2009, 04:34:50 am »
Dear Belindab,

I cannot confirm we have a completely clear solution. I'm just a needle in the haystack.

Dear GraceWorks,

I was able to fix the backend problem by removing a virus as outlined in a previous post using Ad-aware. I also installed Spybot and cleaned up my registery on Windows Vista using CCleaner.

http://www.lavasoft.com/   http://www.safer-networking.org/   http://www.google.com/search?q=CCleaner

The image error (EXT) is something I'm not familiar with and maybe someone could elaberate? Perhaps it is related to the css that IE7 uses?

<!--[if IE 7]>
<link href="templates/khepri/css/ie7.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<![endif]-->

You can always PM me if you need more help.
Try posting a link to your website in your profile, or a link to the error page if possible.

A picture is worth a thousand words. For XP get http://www.bhelpuri.net/Snippy/SnippyDownload.htm, or...

Windows Vista has a Snipping Tool in the Accessories area of the Start Button.

"We look for things that make us go, computer things."
(StarTrek NG: Pakleds Episode http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lxIL1WlxSQ).


Have you read the manual? http://virtuemart.net/documentation/User_Manual/index.html I did, huh?

grayceworks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #147 on: March 12, 2009, 10:54:09 am »
not a virus issue... no virus, no trojans, able to replicate the error on multiple systems on different networks using IE7.

As mentioned, when I installed the mainframe.class.php file that you posted, the IE7 operation abort error went away,

Leaving me with only the runtime error when visiting any admin page for vm, which I posted the exact line the debugger gave, so I don't know how much more I can elaborate on that... 

it's not the css. It's something about the js that is being called at THAT LINE that I posted, which seems to be related to virtuemart's toolbar. dunno...

it points to ..\components\com_virtuemart\js\extjs2\ext-all.js ( I THINK -- could be wrong, but that's the location of the .gif file listed in the line above, and it's used according to that file there as something to do with overlays or something for the toolbar in the admin side)

text/javascript Ext.BLANK_IMAGE_URL =

Code: [Select]
<script type="text/javascript">Ext.BLANK_IMAGE_URL = "http://....etc etc etc...
searching for solutions
====================================
Joomla 1.5.9
VirtueMart 1.1.3
Linux/Apache|PHP5|mySQL5
Firefox 3.0.6 | Internet Exploder 7 
Windoze XP sp3 | Suse 10

DVD_GR

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #148 on: March 13, 2009, 13:57:35 pm »
If PeterTJ's solution worked, than it could be Joomla issue or combination of Joomla and VirtueMart, this IE issue is making me bald, it works for few, not others, it is difficult to find a prefect solution as the error could be caused due to combination of many extension, it makes troubleshooting more difficult because I don't get it on my site.

The problem lies not in joomla and not in virtuemart,
it is within that CRAP software called internet explorer....

Microsoft's admitance is here

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/927917#more_information

aravot you have done a great work and all virtuemart team.
for anyone who accuses virtuemart team for that bug better ask microsoft what the $#%#$^# are doing with internet explorer so many years...Crappiest browser ever...

spoonbender

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Fix for Internet Explorer (IE7) Operation Aborted issue.
« Reply #149 on: March 15, 2009, 10:56:16 am »
This one worked for me:

Components > Virtuemart > Admin > Configuration > Site Tab > Layout > Select the theme for your Shop (Click on Configuration)

Product List Style: Product Listing with a table (default)

Open Product Images in a LightBox?: No

---------------
From the MSDN Forums, it seems that IE& is having problems with <div> tags, so i just disabled it.

VM 1.1.2
J! 1.0.15