Author Topic: Where to translate "Manufacturer"? [SOLVED]  (Read 294 times)

EvanGR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 243
Where to translate "Manufacturer"? [SOLVED]
« on: July 26, 2019, 10:39:01 am »
Hello,

I want to translate the "Manufacturer" label in the frontend.

It is defined in the backend in the Manufacturers page. I want it to appear with a different translation in the front-end.

Thanks

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 412
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: Where to translate "Manufacturer"?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2019, 11:48:08 am »
1. Download VirtueMart.
2. Get a tool for full text search like Total Commander, Notepad++, Krusader...
3. Search the extracted folder for "Manufacturer".
4. You never have to wait for an answer here again.

Hope it helps
Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

Please use only stable versions with even numbers for your life shop! Use Alpha versions only if you know what risk you are taking.

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2314
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: Where to translate "Manufacturer"?
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2019, 11:51:52 am »
Remember to translate the language key with the Joomla language override or else You loose this on a update.

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

EvanGR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 243
Re: Where to translate "Manufacturer"? [SOLVED]
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2019, 13:19:11 pm »
Thanks. I did try the mentioned text search but could not find the proper translation key.

Turns out, I had to override translation for a 3rd party module.

Thanks again

StefanSTS

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 412
  • VirtueMart Version: VM 4.2 on Joomla 4.5
Re: Where to translate "Manufacturer"? [SOLVED]
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2019, 13:53:11 pm »
Turns out, I had to override translation for a 3rd party module.
My good advice should have been then: Keep a recent backup of your shop on your computer and do a keyword search there.

Good, it worked out. ;-)
Stefan
--
Stefan Schumacher
www.jooglies.com - VirtueMart Invoice Layouts

Please use only stable versions with even numbers for your life shop! Use Alpha versions only if you know what risk you are taking.

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2314
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: Where to translate "Manufacturer"? [SOLVED]
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2019, 13:55:03 pm »
As Stefan already mentioned. Install the total site locally and You will easily find such text keys :) Or try the Joomla language debug.

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)