Re: How Joomla 3.8 generates PDF now? Lack of pdf.php, new libraries structure

Started by Adwans, March 23, 2018, 16:24:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adwans

Hello Guys,
I finally got everything updated up to VM. 3.2.12 and J! 3.8.6
Since J! 3.8 many things changed  - you know - e.g. before  I had PDFs generated just using format=pdf in Urls.
Now, with me trying to use this, new joomla gives an error:
QuoteCall to undefined method Joomla\CMS\Document\RawDocument::setName()
Looks like redirecting me to RawDocument instead of PdfDocument.
Is there any other location with PdfDocument class since J! 3.8 ? How it works now?
maybe my question is funny,  but I'm new to Joomla 3.8 changes.

jenkinhill

Obviously really a question for the Joomla forum, but pdf generation was removed from Joomla some versions ago.  There are extensions to generate pdfs, though in the JED
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Adwans

You are absolutely right, I will ask on J Forum, but VM also generates PDF using TCPDF and something changed with Joomla 3.18.
I know that native Joomla generation was removed years ago.
Maybe any hint?

Studio 42

Here native PDF https://github.com/studio42/joomla-pdf-document-view, i dont use it anymore, but should work as you need.
It use any PDF libraries, you can donwload packages from here http://studio42.github.io/joomla-pdf-document-view/index.html or use any you want.
If you can install wkhtmltopdf(need a dedicated server) you can render wysiwyg print quality.

Adwans

Ok, but it is impossibile  to use - AFAIK - libraries/joomla/document/pdf/pdf.php coz newest Joomla does not use libraries/joomla/document -
we have libraries/src/Document
Phoca gallery faced same problem recently. Do we have any equivalent of pdf.php
@jenkinhill, this is not a sole J! problem, since pdf.php belongs to VM stuff.  ;)

Studio 42