Author Topic: search module  (Read 3558 times)

alex4842

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • A beginner
search module
« on: July 20, 2016, 10:32:15 am »
hello and sorry if this question was previously asked but i only find this https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=131362.0 topic. I would like to ask how can i make my search plugin to search and the products of the virtuemart,is it possible? Can you please help me because i am newbie to understand. I am using VM3 and Joomla 3.5.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27570
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: search module
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 12:43:01 pm »
Usually you just publish the VirtueMart Search Product - installed with the VM aio component. It has configuration options for filter & layout.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.8.10202 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

alex4842

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • A beginner
Re: search module
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2016, 13:23:02 pm »
hello @jenkinhill and thank you for your responce!!  :) yes it is working!! :) but is there a way to link the search to search both virtuemart and normal search (search that has joomla by default). I don;t know if i am clear, i want to have one search module for both virtuemart products and for the content of the site. Can i manage that?

Ghost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 419
Re: search module
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2016, 14:42:17 pm »
Search and Finder (Smart Search). They use separate plugins. VirtueMart comes only with Search plugin for products. If you want to use Smart Search, you need to get a plugin from somewhere. If not, just publish Search module and enable Search - VirtueMart Product plugin.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27570
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: search module
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2016, 15:18:51 pm »
Yes, enable the VirtueMart Product search plugin and then Joomla search will include VM products.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.8.10202 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

alex4842

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • A beginner
Re: search module
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2016, 15:29:03 pm »
i have done that but didn't work  :(

Ghost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 419
Re: search module
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2016, 09:15:13 am »
Maybe you're using Smart Search module?

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3534
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: search module
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2016, 11:00:31 am »
Create a Joomla menu item 'Search' or perhaps label it 'Advanced Search' with the menu item type 'Search' > Search Form or Search Results.
The menu link will open a Joomla search form.

Then search for a plugin with the name 'VirtueMart Product', select the desired options and publish it.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations