News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

How Export/Import new data, changed while working on upgrade?

Started by betterlead, April 11, 2015, 15:00:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

betterlead

Scenario:

I have my live shop running on J2.5 & VM2.6.
Abouth 4 weeks ago I took an Akeeba backup, installed and upgraded almost everything and have a couple of test sites running pretty good on J3 & VM3 (On localhost and on a remote server in sub folder).
Since 4 weeks have past, there luckily has been some commerce going on i my web shop. New orders, new users a s o.

To my question: Is there any good guide on how to update the data that has changed in Virtuemart? Export from the live J2.5/VM2.6 site and import to the test site running on J3/VM3 - finally to take over as the new live site shop.

I have never done something near to this before, so I need to find a rather basic tutorial for this, if you know what I mean...
Could it be, in phpMyAdmin? Exporting tables? Then which ones? How?

Live site runs on Joomla 3.9.24 & VM 3.8.6 10373

PHP: 7.3.26

GJC Web Design

You've actually created a bit of a problem here..
You can't just copy tables across as one is J2.5/VM2.6 - the other J3/VM3

And it isn't just VM data - you need the joomla users data and the linked info that goes with it

Personally I would try clone the old one -
upgrade to VM3
check everything
upgrade to J3
check everything

Now in theory you have  usable database tables that you can over write (obviously a test copy) the tables of your new site

just J user tables and VM user / order tables
even then u may have problems with things like ship, tax, payment ids in orders if these are different between sites

how many users/orders are u talking about?

another approach could be export the users/orders etc by e.g. csvi and see if importable