Author Topic: Select State Missing  (Read 2137 times)

bluebeachdesign

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Select State Missing
« on: May 11, 2013, 19:06:24 pm »
Before you send me to another URL that addresses this, just note: I have tried those solutions. Select State is missing at checkout in the user details. Checking firebug console showed no errors.

URL: https://www.leadaprons.net/your-cart/view/user/task/editaddresscart/addrtype/BT
Joomla Version: 2.5.8
VM Version: 2.0.20b

What I have done.. I edited the vmsite.js as stated on another post to allow the vmSiteurl undefined even though mine is.
I've tried unchecking the jquery and eliminating all other possibilities on my page. Currently all default options have been restored.
I tried the language javascript fix with no success.
I even set the siteurl to a local path.
I've added the shopping group anonymous to the list.
I've check the country and states all are published.
I've disabled all other modules and plugins without success.
I've installed jquery easy and disabled all others without success.
Each time i've made a change i've ran Ccleaner to make sure my history is cleared.



jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28464
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Select State Missing
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2013, 23:04:26 pm »
IE10 debugger shows your scripts stop running at
//<![CDATA[
      jQuery( function($) {
         $("select.virtuemart_country_id").vm2front("list",{dest : "#virtuemart_state_id",ids : ""});
      });
//]]>

and there is no AJAX update to load the states.

The script you are loading that bothers me is
  <script src="/joomla25/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/chosen.jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

ISTR this has an effect on selectors and drop down elements. So whatever module or plugin is loading that, try disabling it.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

bluebeachdesign

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Select State Missing
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 19:33:59 pm »
Looks like Virtuemart is loading the:   <script src="/joomla25/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/chosen.jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

I renamed the file in FTP and did a refresh. Still no states..

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28464
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Select State Missing
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 21:05:31 pm »
Looks like I approached the debugging the wrong way. Yes you do need chosen.jquery, but it seems to be in conflict - and at a second look it could be with an interraction with script from mod_maximenuck 

See if disabling that module helps.

Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30

bluebeachdesign

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Select State Missing
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 04:59:53 am »
I tried that one first. Figured it out. Ended up being System - ARTIO JoomSEF plugin! Is there a better SEF plugin available?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28464
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Select State Missing
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:03:28 am »
Artio causes too many problem with VM. There is nothing wrong with Joomla 2.5's inbuilt SEF which works well with VM2
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 4.0.12 10777  J 3.10.11 PHP 7.4.30