Setting Tax / Caluclation Rules Product wise rather than category

Started by MitEsp, January 02, 2013, 07:59:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MitEsp

Hi,

I am totally new to Joomla / VM , but have some PHP coding knowledge.

I am setting up a VM store (Joomla 2.5.4 / Virtuemart 2.0.10 with istraxx_quantity plugin installed.

I have different product categories and different shopper groups. I am able to set different calculation rules for different shopper groups, only product categorywise - all product categories / selected product category(ies). - it works fine.

But, I have a slightly different requirement for which I need a solution :

I need to set the rules for individual products - NOT product categories, because within the same product category, for different products the rules are quite different. I understand that a possible solution is to have as many unpublished categories for each product and thus use these unpublished product categories for setting the rules. But it is complicated since I have at least around 30 different categories with around 20 to 40 products under each category - around 1000 products in total. I need to set the rules for each of the individual 1000 products and not the 30 categories. If I were to use unpublished categories, it would mean i need to create at least 1000 unpublished categories, which is going to be cumbersome.

Any solution - by which I can assign the rules to each product than category? If that would mean hacking the code, can anyone (@Milbo - Hi, I believe you are the guy behind this calculations part, can you please help me?) suggest how I could do that - tutorials for hacking the code etc...?

Thanks in advance for all your valuable help.

Regards
Chan

Parsimonious