Author Topic: Edit screen i VM admin not working right  (Read 5859 times)

bytelord

  • Nikos
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2369
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2012, 21:26:07 pm »
you could download an older version of xampp from sourforge or a portable one with older versions having PHP 5.3.x

like this,

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xampp/files/XAMPP%20Windows/1.7.4/
Production: Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.14 | PHP 5.3.13
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.16 | PHP 5.3.8
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 |    VM 2.1   | PHP 5.3.8

- Don't Forget to mark thread as solved when it is solved!
- Please do not PM with support questions, use the forum!

knutmw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2012, 22:11:34 pm »
Now i have downloaded the verson you say, tested it on that.

Still same errors

I have now installed the backup thats form when the time the site was working, at least is what i have been told. Doing this for somebody else.

Now with php 5.3.5

Also tested install tebles or if necessarty update them, and still no luck

I am just puzzeld what this can be.

I am now at virtuemart 2.0.2 and joomla 2.5.6


jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28314
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2012, 23:25:07 pm »
PHP 5.4.7
DB verson 5.5.27

Joomla 2.5 will not work on these versions, and neither will VirtueMart 2.0.10 

Aim for PHP 5.3.13 and MySQL around 5.1
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart  4.0.2 10661 on Joomla 3.10.9 PHP 7.4.29

knutmw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2012, 23:35:24 pm »
Have just testet it on php 5.3.4 and 5.3.5

I think that i have bene in the most php versons.
But stll same problemstilling like before



- When clicking on a product to edit it. Standing in the product menu
- When clicking on a product to edit it. Standing in the inventory menu
- When clicking on a category name to edit it.
- When clicking on a manufacture to edit it
- When clicking on shop to edit shop details
- When clicking on a shopper feilds to edit
- When clicking on a order status feild to edit

Get errors when useing joomla 2.5.6 and 2.5.7
And virtuemart 2.0.2 and 2.0.10 and 2.0.8c and 2.0.8e

Tryed all vm versons on both joomla versons.

bytelord

  • Nikos
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2369
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2012, 01:53:10 am »
Hello,

You are doing something wrong i suppose, or something is corrupted with your initial installation of joomla or virtuemart.
Try a clean installation with joomla 2.5.7 and vm 2.0.10, after you finish try to migrate your data manually or by using csvi.
Production: Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.14 | PHP 5.3.13
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.16 | PHP 5.3.8
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 |    VM 2.1   | PHP 5.3.8

- Don't Forget to mark thread as solved when it is solved!
- Please do not PM with support questions, use the forum!

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28314
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2012, 11:01:47 am »
Additionally you could make a fresh Joomla2.5.7/VM2.0.10 installation and then connect it to a copy of the current site database. The errors you see are most likely due to file corruptions rather than db issues. If that seems to work then copy over the image directories as well.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart  4.0.2 10661 on Joomla 3.10.9 PHP 7.4.29

knutmw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2012, 17:28:42 pm »
Hi

I now know for a fact is has to be det database

I have tested it like you sayd i tryed copying files from new instalation that works to the "Problem" instalation" that made no differens did still not work.

Then i tested the old DB on the working shop configuration. I got the same problem. So it looks like its something to de with the database.

How to find out and how to correct? Where can i be?


bytelord

  • Nikos
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2369
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2012, 21:33:45 pm »
Hello,

I cannot tell you how "damage" or not "damage" your database is.
What i am suggesting is to install a clean joomla 2.5.7, clean virtuemart 2.0.10. Configure your shop as was before, bring your templates. So now we have the site without the data. After that make a good backup with akeeba to the new site so if something goes wrong after you will have your site. So now the only thing that remains is the data and the file images!

Next step i am suggesting to use csvi to export your products from your working installation and the import them to your new clean installation. Last bring your media and make all the other necessary changes. After that sync your media if it is necessary.

It will take some time to accomplish but always take a backup first do not start from the scratch!!

Regards
Production: Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.14 | PHP 5.3.13
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 | VM 2.0.16 | PHP 5.3.8
Testing     : Joomla 2.5.8 |    VM 2.1   | PHP 5.3.8

- Don't Forget to mark thread as solved when it is solved!
- Please do not PM with support questions, use the forum!

knutmw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Edit screen i VM admin not working right
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2012, 23:39:13 pm »
Yes i know

Have sendt an request to the hosting company and hope that thay can help me with a backup thats not to old of the database that are working. Will lose some date, men guess thats quick if it works.

Tanks for all the help so fare. Looks like i am going to install joomla 2.5.7 and VM 2.0.10 myself and upgrade my store form joomla 1.5.26 and VM 1.1.9

Have a nice day