VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart Dev/Coding Central: VM1 (old version) => VirtueMart Extensions Directory => Topic started by: balai on March 04, 2011, 08:55:17 am

Title: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on March 04, 2011, 08:55:17 am
Hi

VM Product builder is a component for creating either custom product bundles selcting various products in the front-end, or predefined bundles from the backend ready to be purchased.

http://breakdesigns.net/extensions/vm-product-builder

It works with ajax to load prodct info also offers compatiility check between the selected products

We would like to create a forum thread for VM product builder component.
Here you can write any request or bug if you like.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: plew on March 10, 2011, 14:25:05 pm
How do I intergrate Product Builder so that when customers are in the shopping cart and click on continue shopping or the item link it goes back to the product builder page rather than the standard virturmart product pages? Thanks
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: jm00730 on March 22, 2011, 23:43:09 pm
 I have a product bundle that is comprised of three groups. From the front end, as a user when you select an item from the first pull-down the corresponding image is displayed on the right. However when i move to the second component, the first image disappears and the second image appears.

Would anyone know how to get the image that shows up on the right to stay up for each item.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on March 23, 2011, 11:51:37 am
The limitation here is that together with images, displayed also the short description and the manucturer info.

That means that if the loaded info have height bigger than the group's height, the next loaded image will not be aligned correctly near the group in which belongs.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: jm00730 on March 23, 2011, 21:22:19 pm
Im my case this would be ok, since my items do not have much description at all. And I do not have any manufacturer or vendor information on my products. The only thing they have is a price and category. the descriptions are the titles/names of the products.

If i could just get the images to stay up, I could play around with the layout to get it as best as possible.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on May 02, 2011, 13:02:24 pm
we have added a new layout in the Product builder 1.3.3 version that displays all the images of the selected products.

http://demo.breakdesigns.net/select-parts-static-layout
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: joomlis on December 12, 2011, 16:18:21 pm
Hi dear all,

How can I integrate related products to Product Builder in Virtuemart?

Thanks!

Best regards
Joomlis
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on January 06, 2012, 15:39:53 pm
Just for info

We will soon release a new version of Product Builder for VM 2.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: sleepigrl on February 06, 2012, 20:06:16 pm
Has anyone figured out a way to include VM's pathway / product navigation in the page created by the product builder?  I'd like for these pages to look identical to my product flypages.

Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on February 07, 2012, 02:11:51 am
Hi

How a flypage can be identical to the PB's layouts? They offer completely different functionality
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: sleepigrl on February 07, 2012, 02:36:33 am
Correct - the functionality is different.  I'd just like for them to look the same so that they blend in a little better.  So far I've managed to adapt the PB template I'm using a little, but I'd like to be able to call some of the VM functions. 

The pathway may be a bit much (although I envisioned it linking to other product builders), but I'd really like to add the "Ask a question about this" feature. 

I know I can do the first part manually to replace the pathway, but I can't figure out how to do the Ask a Question.

Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: yashbhalani007 on September 12, 2013, 15:30:58 pm
this is the worst part i ever felt as the virtuemart product builder mentioned in the description that "Division of the products selection process into steps (pages)" but they did not post or gave any user guide for creating this type of product section anywhere...

even i tried to contact in support center too but yet there is no respose from breakdesigns.net and even i mailed in the ask the question too but result is same...

so can any one please help me to provide instruction guide  for "Division of the products selection process into steps (pages)"...
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on September 12, 2013, 16:52:40 pm
There is not even 1 unanswered ticket in our support system.

First ask for support the correct way and then make your assumptions.
http://breakdesigns.net/terms-a-conditions#support

Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: yashbhalani007 on September 13, 2013, 08:09:26 am
so you wont gona help me here???

and can you please check your ask a question section and search it i already sent two times my doubt...

one was not able to check backend of your demo site (http://test3.breakdesigns.net/index.php/) and another is no user guide (for Division of the products selection process into steps (pages))...

kindly please check once....

anyways can anyone help me out for this issue please...

i need solution as soon as possible as my work is stuck since last two week because of this issue only please help me someone...

thanks
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: jenkinhill on September 13, 2013, 11:01:44 am
yashbhalani007 the place for support of third party VM addons is on the developers own website. You have the url in the post from balai.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: yashbhalani007 on September 13, 2013, 11:09:02 am
ohk thanking you sir...
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: lorartemis on September 30, 2013, 11:48:27 am
Hi balai
I have a client who sells dog coats.  Some of them have the option of embroidery with the dogs name.   I've used a custom field for the payment side so they select x number of letters at £1 per letter with a minimum charge of £5.   but they then use an input box to add the name and not all the customers select the payment option before adding the name.    They say they don't realise, but it's clear on the page and I suspect they just do it to avoid paying extra.   My client has to go back and charge them the extra money.   I hope this makes sense to you?

Would your product builder allow me to add this option to their products more easily?       If they start to add a name, they need to be charged for each letter in the name, can this be done within your extension?   

We are using VM 2.0.22c, Joomla 2.5.14.   Thanks for any advice you can offer.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on September 30, 2013, 12:34:41 pm
Hi

If you have the payment options as products, you can set the selection of such products to be mandatory.

Now if they are custom fields , Product Builder will load and display the custom fields the same way they they are displayed in the product details page.
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: lorartemis on October 16, 2013, 14:06:50 pm
Hi Balai, thanks for the reply.     The customer adds a coat to the cart, the custom fields are things like the colour of the coat, the colour of the lining, reflective strips etc.    The last thing they offer on some is for the embroidery which requires the customer to enter the name (max 10 letters) and select the number of letters from a dropdown (so the price is added) minimum £5 up to £10 in £1 increments.    This is done with Custom Fields at the moment, do you think the product builder would be better?   A lot of their customers are older people who are not great with computers so I want to make it as easy as I can. 
Thank you
Loraine
Title: Re: VM Product Builder
Post by: balai on October 16, 2013, 16:21:55 pm
Hi

Product Builder mainly lets you select multiple products, to build a bundle/configuration and put all of them in the cart.
It makes that process easy enough by dividing it into steps and offering some usefull ajax functionalities.

But you want gain much if all these are customfields. Maybe an easier and faster way to select a product and its options.
If you want to have better custom fields including colors, check this one
http://breakdesigns.net/extensions/customfields-for-all