VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Installation & Upgrade VM 1.1 => Topic started by: sol on April 23, 2008, 23:58:04 pm

Title: Upgrade from 1.1.0 Beta 3?
Post by: sol on April 23, 2008, 23:58:04 pm
I know this was not wise....but I installed Virtuemart 1.1.0 Beta 3 in an important Site  ???

Now I have been looking for Virtuemart all day - and wow - you really did it! 1.1 stable is out. What a great job!

My question is; can I perform an upgrade, and use the manual installation package;
http://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/proj/doc.do?doc_id=1005
like jenkinhill adviced for upgrade from VM 1.1 RC3.

Is RC3 and Beta3 the same?

Thank you very much.
Title: Re: Upgrade from 1.1.0 Beta 3?
Post by: jay blaq on April 24, 2008, 09:32:30 am
I did it fine without any issues. I did however use WINMERGE to create the cfg file with the new additions so I didnt lose my VM config
Title: Re: Upgrade from 1.1.0 Beta 3?
Post by: jenkinhill on April 24, 2008, 11:22:20 am
Is RC3 and Beta3 the same?

No they are not the same, a lot of bugs were fixed. You can update using the manual install package to overwrite the old files. Backup first, just in case.
Title: Re: Upgrade from 1.1.0 Beta 3?
Post by: dobberchie on April 24, 2008, 14:38:08 pm
Is there a need to take the changes from the cfg file and add the changes to the new cfg file if we have been running on the nightly build?
Title: Re: Upgrade from 1.1.0 Beta 3?
Post by: jenkinhill on April 24, 2008, 16:20:00 pm
Config should be OK. I have been doing daily updates and have not had to change basic config.