VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 + 4 => General Questions => Topic started by: SoTrue on November 19, 2015, 20:18:09 PM

Title: VM3 - Use random product image as category image
Post by: SoTrue on November 19, 2015, 20:18:09 PM
I have seen this discussed for VM 2 but have tried this solution and it does not work unfortunately. The solution for VM2 is below:
Create a template override with categories.php and change the below around line 74:

echo $category->images[0]->displayMediaThumb("",false);

With
$productModel = VmModel::getModel('product');
$prod_in_category = $productModel->getProductListing(false, 1, false, true, true, true, $category->virtuemart_category_id);
$productModel->addImages($prod_in_category[0],1);
if(!empty($prod_in_category[0]->images[0])){
    echo $prod_in_category[0]->images[0]->displayMediaThumb("",false);
} else {
    echo $category->images[0]->displayMediaThumb("",false);


Or for a random image from the category us:

$productModel = VmModel::getModel('product');
$prod_in_category = $productModel->getProductsInCategory($category->virtuemart_category_id);
$sel = array_rand($prod_in_category);
$productModel->addImages($prod_in_category[$sel],1);
if(!empty($prod_in_category[$sel]->images[0])){
    echo $prod_in_category[$sel]->images[0]->displayMediaThumb("",false);
} else {
    echo $category->images[0]->displayMediaThumb("",false);
}


I have tried both of the code snippets above but i just get an empty page so am guessing something may have changed between versions. Can anyone advise? I am using Joomla 3.4.5 and Virtuemart 3.0.9.

Best Regards
Donna
Title: Re: VM3 - Use random product image as category image
Post by: beltoforion on July 04, 2020, 20:36:50 PM
hey I want this in the new version as well. I am investigating how to do it too.
Title: Re: VM3 - Use random product image as category image
Post by: pinochico on July 04, 2020, 20:58:52 PM
Quotewanting to learn to create good templates

if you really mean it, then don't waiting answer from forum, but you must trying self.
Again, again and again.

Now I give you the best option for your learning: I don't send you instructions.
You can try self and after 14 days you send me info, what do you learn - send me result.

Title: Re: VM3 - Use random product image as category image
Post by: beltoforion on July 11, 2020, 19:09:17 PM
that signature I have not changed since a long time ago but I am a persistent fellow so I dont mind learning :D show me