VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Administration & Configuration => Topic started by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 17:14:46 pm

Title: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 17:14:46 pm
Hi Guys,

Please assist me..
URL: http://www.stylenouveau.co.za/
On the top of the page is a link for BRANDS. Click that and it shows you the different Manufacturers. That's great!
The problem now comes in when you select one of those brands.

It takes you to a page that asks you to click another link to view that particular brand.. (which we don't want it to do)

Then for fun, let's click that link.. And now it takes us to all the different categories. (which it shouldn't do)..
But let's humour the system and click on a category anyways..

Now it brings up Sub-Categories..
so click on a sub category and it brings up the entire product list that falls under the sub category - not even the manufacturer!

So essentially what im saying is that this is completely screwed up.

How can this be fixed?
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 17:42:42 pm
Hi CreativeDesigns,

Lets break this down...

Quote
On the top of the page is a link for BRANDS. Click that and it shows you the different Manufacturers. That's great!
The problem now comes in when you select one of those brands.
-- so far so good.

Quote
It takes you to a page that asks you to click another link to view that particular brand.. (which we don't want it to do)
-- is this set as the MANUFACTURER DEFAULT LAYOUT? if so then this is correct as it should display all manufacturers in that specific category

Quote
Then for fun, let's click that link.. And now it takes us to all the different categories. (which it shouldn't do)..
But let's humour the system and click on a category anyways..
-- The categories at the top part of your page is your standard categories. NOT specific to the manufacturer
-- The manufacturer specific products are listed in the bottom half of your page. If there are no products assigned to that manufacturer then no products will appear
-- You can remove the category list by editing your template.

Quote
Now it brings up Sub-Categories..
so click on a sub category and it brings up the entire product list that falls under the sub category - not even the manufacturer!
-- You just clicked on a standard category, so this is the correct action/path the system should take.

So you see it's not really a bug.

Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 17:53:57 pm
Hi Ivus

Thank you so much for your response.
Firstly, you say that I can remove the Category List by editing my template.
Would you be able to tell me how to do that?

My client swore to me that she had updated all the manufacturers on VM, but clearly she hasn't, so I apologise for wasting your time.
You really have shed a lot of light on this subject for me :)

I guess I tested on a really crummy category! lol!
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 17:55:58 pm
Are you using a theme?
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 18:09:40 pm
yes :)
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 18:12:25 pm
gonna need to see the template code for the following:

/manufacturer/default.php
/manufacturer/details.php
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 18:27:19 pm
Hi Ivus,

I have attached a zip with the 2 files in it.
I hope they are the correct files.
I have located them in components/com_virtuemrt/views/manufacturer/tmpl



[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 18:49:02 pm
Nope..

they should come from your templates folder.

/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/html/com_virtuemart/manufacturer/
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 18:56:39 pm
There is no Manufacturer folder within /templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/html/com_virtuemart/

In that com_virtuemart folder, I've got the following folders:
-askquestion
- cart
- category
- orders
- productdetails
- user
- virtuemart


I have opened all of them, and none of them have any reference to manufacturer.

Do you want me to PM you the FTP details. Would that help?
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 19:25:39 pm
ok i need this file

/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 19:31:23 pm
Sure thing. It's attached :)

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 19:43:25 pm
Try that for size.

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 19:48:48 pm
YAY! It looks great!
Is there a way of bypassing this link when clicking the brand?
http://www.stylenouveau.co.za/brands/manufacturers/aldo-brue.html
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 19:58:32 pm
only if you have one manufacturer category and all your brands are in that category.
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 20:00:49 pm
We have a number of Parent categories with all their products in them.
Is there any way around this?
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: ivus on September 13, 2012, 20:08:51 pm
NOPE.

MANUFACTURERS/BRANDS
  |
  |--  SHOES
  |      |-- NIKE
  |      |-- bliddyspam
  |      |-- NEW BALANCE
  |      |-- CONVERSE
  |
  |--  SHIRTS/TOPS
  |      |-- POLO
  |      |-- TOMMY HILFIGER
  |      |-- CALVIN KLEIN
  |
  |--  JEANS
         |-- CALVIN KLEIN
         |-- G*STAR RAW
         |-- LEVI
         |-- LEE
 

You cannot go from BRANDS -> G*STAR RAW without selecting JEANS first

Also another problem would be if you did this BRANDS -> CALVIN KLEIN... ?? which category would you be in?
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: CreativeDesigns on September 13, 2012, 20:21:40 pm
Thank you so much for your help Ivus.
I really appreciate it! :)
Title: Re: Manufacturer Problems
Post by: rheo on December 15, 2012, 08:35:26 am
Hi,

I was following the replies to this post, after searching around for some information relating to Manufacturers..

Id like to ask
Am i right to say that you can use Manufacturer as "Brands"

I have a site selling wine/liquor..   and some wine's have a few brands selling the same TYPE of product...

So all i need to do is.. create Virtuemart Categories = Type of product
and the Manufacturer = Brands??


So i create two types of pages... 

1) a page that shows products of a certain TYPE of product  (Category)
2) a page that shows products from a certain Brand regardly of the type of product ( Manufacturer Page)