VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Language/Translations => Topic started by: jjk on July 06, 2012, 06:55:23 am

Title: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on July 06, 2012, 06:55:23 am
Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages

Third party translation extensions to set up a multilingual shop with Joomla 2.5.x/VirtueMart 2.0.x are NOT required.

Note: This and other tutorials are now also available on the new VirtueMart homepage at: http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials.html (http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials.html)
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: kmmmp on July 10, 2012, 11:54:42 am
Very usefull, thanks !

ps : 100 times better than Joomfish and other Falang ... ;-)
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Edze on September 26, 2012, 03:16:24 am
Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
  • First make shure Joomla 2.5.x multilanguage setup is correct. See here: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf (http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf)
  • Choose your primary language as the default frontend language in Joomla.
  • After installing Virtuemart 2.x.x, check if your required VM2 language pack has been installed in the Joomla language folders. Examples of VM2 language filenames are 'nl-NL.com_virtuemart.ini' or 'nl-NL.plg_vmpayment_paypal.ini'.
    For a dutch user, the VM2 frontend language files would be in the folder:
    your-joomla-root-folder\language\nl-NL
    and the dutch VM2 backend language files would be in the folder:
    your-joomla-root-folder\administrator\language\nl-NL
     
    If your language was not included in the com_virtuemart.2.x.x_ext_aio.zip, you might have to install it seperately. A number of additional language files are packed into the file com_virtuemart.2.x.x_languages_extract_first.zip available at http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files (http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files). Unzip it once and then pick your language, i.e. com_virtuemart_nl-NL.zip (nl-NL = dutch) and install it using the Joomla installer.  Even more language files (including partial translations of VM2) are available if you follow the links provided in this VirtueMart forum post: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=98362.0 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=98362.0)
  • Then select your languages in VM2 Configuration - First tab - 'Multilingual shop' form field.
    After that you should be able to switch between languages in VM2 as described in the next two points.
  • The VM2 categories can be translated by selecting one of your other languages in the VM2 'Product Category Form' language dropdown list on top of the view.
  • Similarly, product descriptions in VM2 can be translated by selecting a different language from the dropdown list in the 'Product Edit' view.
    (Note: Set Joomla to use TinyMCE editor or use the JCE editor version 2.2.1 or higher. There is a conflict between VM2 and other editors)
  • In Joomla create a menu for each of your languages, holding menu items for all your VM2 categories and the cart.
Third party translation extensions to set up a multilingual shop with Joomla 2.5.x/VirtueMart 2.0.x are NOT required.


Hi,

I installed Joomla 2.5.7 with English and Dutch, and the Language selector.
Working fine so far.
Afer installing VM 2.0.10 I copied the Dutch language files to their locations.

Configuration - Language Settings
English and Dutch
English as fallback V

In Control Panel - Shop I have a dropdown English and Dutch
In Products and Categories I see English in left top corner, no dropdown.

What am I missing here?

Kind regards,
Edze
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on September 26, 2012, 10:31:55 am
Please check your Joomla multilanguage status first like described in the first post in this forum thread:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=97776.msg354154#msg354154 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=97776.msg354154#msg354154)
Also, you can enable "Debug Language" in Joomla configuration and check if the virtuemart language files are loaded and if it reports errors in the dutch language files.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: maihoa on October 10, 2012, 10:20:19 am
Thank Jjk, It very good.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: seanlyf on January 06, 2013, 16:31:34 pm
very useful,thanks!
Title: Re: Setting up VirtueMart 2.0.x with Joomfish 2.5 for multiple languages
Post by: tobias_conrad on January 08, 2013, 21:56:08 pm
Does anybody know if the new Joomfish 2.5 release works fine together with Virtuemart 2.0.18? or the upcoming 2.1?
The joomfish Forum (goo.gl/svGjL) says: Please note, that we do not provide support in respect to VirtueMart.

Will it be done here?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on January 08, 2013, 22:26:58 pm
The joomfish Forum (goo.gl/svGjL) says: Please note, that we do not provide support in respect to VirtueMart.

I don't know if somebody from the JF team made that statement. However, it makes sense because VirtueMart has it's own translation system. I'm running an english/german language shop and I'm absolutely satisfied with the language tools J2.5x and VM2.x are providing and it's unlikely that I'll change back to Joomfish again. Therefore I haven't tested Jf 2.5 yet.

Back in Joomla 1.5.x days, you needed a "Translation Trailer" (Joomfish) attached to your "Joomla Car" if you wanted to go multilingual. But with J2.5.x you have a "Joomla Van" with all the necessary translation tools already in your trunk.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: bdimov on March 23, 2013, 11:19:18 am
Hey there,
I have a question:
Now I have categories and products in virtuemart in bulgarian language, but my site have 3 languages: bulgarian, english and russian.
When I change the default language to english for site in virtuemart I can make some english categories and products.
My first question is can I see all categories and products without changing the default language?
My second question is: Ok I change the language and create in english language new categories for english version, but when I go to some modules I have bought there is only bulgarian categories, module is set for english but I see only the bulgarian module... How can I fix that?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on March 23, 2013, 12:23:17 pm
Provided that all three VM languages are installed and selected in the VM configuration > Shop tab > Language settings, the normal procedure is to add categories in your primary language (Bulgarian) and then in the 'Product Edit view' select one of the other two languages (you should see flags in the translatable fields) and type the translation. Of course, if you type a lot of i.e. English translations in a row, you can switch the Joomla default frontend language from Bulgarian to English, to avoid selecting the language again after every click on "Save".

Concerning the modules, you need to make copies of the modules and assign each one to one of your three languages. If the modules display for example a title, you enter the translation into the module's title field.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: bdimov on March 23, 2013, 13:44:57 pm
Yes I made this in Shop tab there I select the languages.
My question is: I go to a category and change in to English, I write the name and etc. then save it and I see only the bulgarian categories and when I change joomla language to english then I can see the english categories... and my question is can I miss that changing of joomla language... Can I see the bulgarian, the russian and the english categories and products without changing the joomla language?
I understand how to create for three language but I don't see it and need to change the language of joomla...

The module - I create new, select it for english language but see only the bulgarian language... I will attach a picture of that module to see it...
(http://i49.tinypic.com/k4bbeh.jpg)

The same is in the menu manager, there I create category menu for english, bulgarian and russian languages but when I select menu type - virtuemart category then I see only the bulgarian category to select.... categories in other language is missing...

(http://i47.tinypic.com/20rso5s.jpg)
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on March 26, 2013, 11:39:36 am
When Bulgarian is your Joomla default site language, the language you will see when editing a VirtueMart product is Bulgarian. When you select English from the dropdown list, it will switch to English (with english flags for the translatable fields). When you click on "Save" after typing your english text, it will switch back to Bulgarian automatically. To see the English text in the backend editor again, you have to select English again from the dropdown list. If you want VirtueMart to stay in English (for example when you want to add many english product descriptions in a row), you have to change the Joomla default site language to English temporarily.

The language of the dropdown category selection (the yellow dropdown list in your second screenshot) does not affect the displayed language of the menu. If the dropdown list remains in Bulgarian, this happens because the Joomla default language (Bulgarian) still is in the Joomla cache. It will change if you select English as Joomla site default language and clear the Joomla cache in Joomla administration > Site > Maintenance > Clear Cache. But as mentioned above, this has no effect on which language the menu is displayed. (You can ignore this).

Your first screeshot shows that you are using an old Gavick News Show version. This one might not be compatible with the latest VirtueMart version. You should update that to the latest version available from the Gavick website (I think latest ist 3.3.7).
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: bdimov on April 01, 2013, 14:35:36 pm
Thank you man, now I realized the problem ... I test it and work... all is that I need to change the language to manage with products and categories in virtuemart!
Thank you for support!
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Markus21 on April 23, 2013, 19:26:05 pm
Very useful! Thanks

Saved me a lot of time  ;)
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: pacino68 on May 07, 2013, 15:08:50 pm
I have employed a web design company who are using Joomla 2.5 and Virtuemart 2.0. to create an ecommerce website for me. 
 
Does Joomla 2.5 and Virtuecart offer multilingual capacity without the requirement to upgrade to Joomfish ?

I just need a website that is English-Italian bilingual. 

They are asking me to pay for a Joomfish upgrade cosing nearly £300. 
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on May 07, 2013, 15:43:44 pm
If you are using Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x, you don't need Joomfish at all. Have a look at the website links provided here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=110005.msg368594#msg368594
or
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=115159.0
There are quite a lot multilingual VM2 shops without using Joomfish.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: pacino68 on May 07, 2013, 19:36:21 pm
Thanks JJK - any ideas why they were pushing me to get Joomfish (other than for charging me money) ????????? ::)
 ???
 
Is it relatively simple to set up multiple languages on VirtueMart 2.0 ?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on May 07, 2013, 19:53:33 pm
Thanks JJK - any ideas why they were pushing me to get Joomfish (other than for charging me money) ????????? ::)
Many people used Joomfish for Joomla 1.5.x websites, including myself. But some people didn't realize yet that the multilanguage features in Joomla 2.5.x are working very well, too.
 
Quote
Is it relatively simple to set up multiple languages on VirtueMart 2.0 ?
Yes, if you follow the Joomla and VirtueMart tutorials linked in the first post of this thread. There are a number of video tutorials on YouTube, too.
However, I would recommend to get the bilingual language setup working correctly before you enter a lot of products. It doesn't make a lot of sense to enter hundreds of products first and then find out that you entered your french descriptions into the english language tables (although it's possible to fix such mistakes)...
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jackvonthor on January 28, 2014, 10:14:27 am
Is it possible to add products in english and for example polish language? or is it always based on a translation system (we type it in one language and it translates to other language) ?

Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on January 28, 2014, 10:29:38 am
Normally you add a product description in your primary language first and then switch to the other language and add the translation. But I'm not shure what you want to know. Do you want to add products which are only displayed in Polish and other products which are only available in English?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jackvonthor on January 28, 2014, 11:36:56 am
I want to know if i can i make the translation by myself? Or is there some automatic translation script that translates the information about the product.

Also, is it possible to add different products for english language and different for the polish? some of them i want to appear only in the specific language version of the shop
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on January 28, 2014, 13:57:41 pm
With the built-in translation system you have to do the translation yourself. I think there are third party extensions adding google or bing translations, but I wouldn't recommend to use one of those. For your second question this free plugin might be the easiest solution: https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=105975.0

But you might ask the developer first if it has been updated and tested with the latest versions of VirtueMart.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: csg22 on October 30, 2014, 23:00:54 pm
Hello,
I have set up my site. I checked it with the admin module. I installed en-US for vm. It appears when I edit 'product categories' but when I select en-us from the dropdown it is en-uk after saving. I noticed when I installed lang file it is installed in different directories than the original en-gb lang files.
How can I fix this?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on October 31, 2014, 20:17:18 pm
Do you want to use en-US only, or do you want to configure Joomla/VM for more than one language. In case you want a multilanguage system - did you follow the Multilanguage setup tutorial available here? http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/multilingual-store/99-multilanguage-setup.html
If you want to use en-US only, you also need to install the en-US joomla language files.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: dxxx1988 on January 14, 2015, 16:39:17 pm
is it posible to change fallback language to something else then English?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on January 14, 2015, 21:31:26 pm
is it posible to change fallback language to something else then English?
Normally that's not possible. The only method to do that which comes into my mind ist to rename the language files of another language. For example take the ukrainian file uk-UA.com_virtuemart.ini  and change the prefix uk-UA to en-GB. But those will be overwritten again when you update VirtueMart to a newer version. I'm not shure if Joomla template overrides would work for all language files in order to keep the files from being overwritten upon updates.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Garyk01 on March 28, 2015, 19:02:33 pm
Please help or suggest a solution.

In Joomla add and chose three languages ​​- flags displayed on the website in the module language switching. Languages ​​switched.
In Virtuemart add and chose three languages, created a test categories and products and get a result - if you open the description of the category or description of the product and switch to another language, it directs me to the homepage.
This is as it should be, or I'm set  multilingual not right?

If this is the way it should be, how can we improve the situation - the user must remain on the selected page product or category after switching to another language?

Joomla 3.4.1 + VM 3.0.6.4
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on March 28, 2015, 20:02:11 pm
You should create three menus, one for each language and make sure that the correct language tag is assigned to each menu item you add to a menu. Make shure you add the same categories in all menus and then associate the menu items to the other languages in the Joomla menu manager.

The Joomla language switcher depends on menu items an their IDs. Switching languages in VirtueMart frontend views is identical to doing so in Joomla. When you are looking at 'Product X' in 'Category A' in Finnish and switch to English, it looks for a menu item 'Category A' in English. If it doesn't find that, the Joomla language switcher will fall back to the next higher level for which it finds a menu item in English, which might be your homepage. If you have a lot of products, you would have to create a lot of (hidden) menu items, if you want to associate products. I wouldn't recommend that.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Garyk01 on March 28, 2015, 22:35:13 pm
Thank you!
So I started to do everything correctly.

I associate categories and cart Virtuemart to menu Joomla - all turned out. If I select another language, after that I stay on the page category or page basket.
If you have a lot of products, you would have to create a lot of (hidden) menu items, if you want to associate products. I wouldn't recommend that.
Snap a lot of products to the menu - it is a very labor-intensive process and will be probably a big load on the system.

May be you have other variant for the products?
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: jjk on March 29, 2015, 10:23:14 am
May be you have other variant for the products?
I don't know any good method for associating a large number of products.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Studio 42 on April 07, 2015, 17:36:22 pm
Hi all,
If you have many to translate you can buy this tool : http://shop.st42.fr/en/products/virtuemart-translator.htm
Google translate or bing translate can be used, if you set it right.

And for products &categories language switching and google hreflang support(better for seo): http://shop.st42.fr/en/products/multi-language-for-virtuemart.htm

Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: sj33k on July 19, 2015, 13:55:21 pm
Hi,

I installed Joomla 3.4.3 with English, French, German and Dutch, and the Language selector.
Working fine so far.

Installed VM 3.0.9 and the English, French, German and Dutch language files. Selected multiple languages in config and set language fall back to english.
Created product categories for each language.
Translated the products and set to corresponding language categorie.
Working fine except that the product details pages are all shown in Dutch. So if I select French language with language switcher, I choose a product in one of the categories, the product details page is shown in Dutch to me.

What am I missing here?

Kind regards,
Jack


I found the fix:

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=130067.0 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=130067.0)

I solved with this:

I replaced the joomla 3.4.1 /plugins/system/languagefilter with the joomla 3.3.6 version and this particular issue was resolved.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Studio 42 on July 21, 2015, 10:34:53 am
Hi sj33k,
I know you can hack Joomla core, but on each Joomla update you have the same problem.
This is why i indicate my module.
Another advantage of my module is direct switching language in products and categories.

Greets,
Patrick
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: suffering on February 17, 2016, 12:23:02 pm
Hello. I have a  virtuemart multilanguage.

My site uses joomla 2.5.9 nad VM 2.020b.

I have 2 problems,

one: i must enter in each product the name for each language, the picture assigned to witch language but i have more than 6500 references,
and i have already 6 installed languages and i want to put more...

I dont use anything different in product name or description for each language. i keep the English language.
Is there any way to auto configure this?

The reason that i must install all languages is that the pictureis not displaying to all languages but the deafult (English). Is there an option that by deafult in the images -> Languages load all option auto?

My question is this.

How can i make VM to load auto the images for all languages and if there is a way to auto take the English language in All language fields.

I mean that if i upload a new product to auto load sku - descrption(that i upload using external ERP program) to ALL languages and image to all languages also.

I am sorry for the bad description of my problem. i am new to this field.
Thank in advance
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Studio 42 on February 17, 2016, 12:28:43 pm
Do not select any language in the config of virtuemart, should work, if you don't want to translate your products.
Else you have selected to display only in English for your image, if you don't select language in image, this should display in all your shop
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: suffering on February 17, 2016, 12:38:56 pm
Thanks for reply but.

If i make the VM non Multilanguage, the field Language dissapears and i cannot do anything there.
So it should display Image to all correct? well it doesnt :(
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: Studio 42 on February 17, 2016, 17:20:47 pm
This should work, else this is a bug in VM.
If a language is missing all the english content should be displayed. Image or any other fields.
So open a new Topic, and check wtih DEV if images are missing on using English for all your shop.
Title: Re: Setting up Joomla 2.5.x and VirtueMart 2.0.x for multiple languages
Post by: nezarati on June 18, 2016, 16:39:54 pm
thank you, i will try this new setting

my joomla is 2.5 v