News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

No payment option for guests

Started by blokarter, September 29, 2014, 19:08:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blokarter

I am very new to virtuemart and am currently finishing off a small site for a friend which is based on Joomla 2.5.25 and Virtuemart 2.6.10.

I have a minor issue with the payment options.
I have read various threads on this forum where the issue is mentioned but am unsure which would solve it.

There is only one payment option set on the site which is Paypal. It has been tested and is working fine for logged in members/customers however guests who build a shopping cart ( but have yet to provide details) are shown "No payment selected" "Select payment".If they click Select payment there are no options just the message "Please select a payment method".

I have the following two shopper groups
COM_VIRTUEMART_SHOPPERGROUP_GUEST, (which has an id 1)
COM_VIRTUEMART_SHOPPERGROUP_DEFAULT (which has an id 2) this one is set at the default group

I am unsure where they came from and assume they are default settings.
I have read several times that I should have a shopper group called "Anonymous" but I cannot find how to create this or if it is needed with the version I am using.
I also read about maybe needing to make changes in the database but I would be unsure how to do this.

Perhaps I am missing something but my questions are,
How do I make paypal appear for shoppers before they complete the registration form?
Do I need the anonymous group and if so how do I create it?

Thanks

jenkinhill

For what you describe shopper groups are not necessary at all. I suspect you may have a shopper group specified in your payment plugin? It should be left as "Available for all".
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

blokarter

Thank you once again for your help.