Author Topic: copy/cloning products VM2 simular to extended lay-out VM1.1  (Read 1803 times)

Doggiefield

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
    • POS for Webshops
  • VirtueMart Version: 2 & 3
copy/cloning products VM2 simular to extended lay-out VM1.1
« on: February 15, 2012, 00:14:39 am »
I am busy to migrate the old site Joomla 1.5.23 and VM 1.1.3 to the newer version.
It looks very promising and I have problems with the old VM so I thought it is time to be up-to-date.

One thing that is important for me is an easy product creation. For example If there is a new inkpad on the market it has 36 different colors.
Now I use the extended layout in the old VM. When I copy a product it opens in a new tab and I can change the article number, name and picture and click on "save" . A pop-up tells me the product is saved and I can change the number, name and picture again.

Cloning looks similar but after cloning a product is is saved somewhere in the list of products. When I have found this product I have to edit the product and save and close it. This takes a lot of time. We have 3000 products in our store and are expanding rapidly.

I hope you understand what I mean  ???

Is there a way to do this more efficient in VM2.0?
Point of sale for Virtuemart
https://www.posforwebshops.com

Bauke

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: copy/cloning products simular to extended lay-out VM1.1
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 18:06:48 pm »
Joomla 2.5 uses the save2new task for articles. This would be a great addition to VM2.

Because i also needed this function i made a smal hack (just temporary until VM supports it)
It will make the 'save'-button act as a save2new button and clone the product.

In 'administrator/components/com_virtuemart/controllers/product.php' add on line 61:
(virtuemart 2.0.2)
Code: [Select]
    if(JRequest::getCmd('task') == 'apply'){
        $data['virtuemart_product_id'] = '';
    }

The save&close button will still act as normal.

I'ts a temprorary fix, I wouldn't recommend this for a production site.



Doggiefield

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
    • POS for Webshops
  • VirtueMart Version: 2 & 3
Re: copy/cloning products VM2 simular to extended lay-out VM1.1
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 01:44:56 am »
Hi Bauke,

Thanks I think this will work as a workaroumd for my problem.
But can someone tell me if something like this is planned as new feature in VM2.

Thanks again
Point of sale for Virtuemart
https://www.posforwebshops.com

Doggiefield

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
    • POS for Webshops
  • VirtueMart Version: 2 & 3
Re: copy/cloning products VM2 simular to extended lay-out VM1.1
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 23:26:02 pm »
Does anybody know if this is something that can/will be implemented in VM2 in the future ?
Point of sale for Virtuemart
https://www.posforwebshops.com

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10369
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
J3.9+ VM 3.4.2
Slowest Page Speed Score (88) (Category)
Fastest Page Speed Score (94-96) (productdetails)