Author Topic: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?  (Read 39664 times)

jericho7

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #45 on: October 22, 2014, 17:37:10 pm »
hi.

yes I understand I can't translate with falang since is not support, but why is not showing me Slovenian language here in drop down menu of Virtuemart, when everything is turned on?

http://cl.ly/image/221R1k3g2K1v

Sidebar modules title of Virtuemart I managed to translate already by copying the modules and publish them only in Slovenian language - but i still need to translate Categories names and product descriptions + titles.

Help :)

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #46 on: October 22, 2014, 19:19:20 pm »
Looks like you don't have the Slovenian VirtueMart translation installed.
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations
In case you have not installed the Slovenian Joomla language files, you should install those before installing the slovenian VM files. Please follow the instructions in this tutorial: http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/multilingual-store/99-multilanguage-setup.html
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

yousefi

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #47 on: February 02, 2015, 21:39:09 pm »
Hi There,

First of all let me thank you Stephane for this wonderful extension.
I have a multi-language Joomla site
   PHP Version     5.4.36-0+deb7u1
   Joomla!          3.3.6
   VirtueMart       3.0.0
   FaLang           1.4.5
   Template        Purity-iii

I established a Multi-Language Shop too; these are link to my shop:
   English:   http://wellan.ir/index.php/en/shop-en
   Persian:   http://wellan.ir/index.php/ir/shop-fa

When I enabled FaLang to use this great extension, Shop Page was disappeared!

After a long time, I find solution (it happens because I was published a module!)
      When I active a “Module >> VirtueMart Category”
      Page doesn't display anything!
      So I was forced to unpublished this module!

After I do that, I can see the VirtueMart shop, but still have problem.
Nothing will display in the categories, No Products will display in there.
   English:   http://wellan.ir/index.php/en/shop-en/wellan-water-ring-en
   Persian:   http://wellan.ir/index.php/ir/shop-fa/wellan-water-ring-fa

After I disable "Plugin >> System - FaLang Database Driver" Every Thing is OK, But after I Enable it again, Comes back with these problems!!!

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #48 on: February 02, 2015, 22:36:20 pm »
I'm pretty shure that Falang still is not compatible with VirtueMart. So you probably will have to build your multi-language site with the multi-language features built into Joomla and VirtueMart. This works pretty well. A short tutorial is available here: http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/multilingual-store/99-multilanguage-setup.html
Also there is a new extension, which might help to make translations within VirtueMart a little bit faster (But I didn't test that version yet myself):
http://shop.st42.fr/en/catalog/products/virtuemart-translator.htm
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

yousefi

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #49 on: February 03, 2015, 06:27:20 am »
But there is a big problem when use joomla native, every thing must be duplicate
And if you change one you have to do it again with the others!!!!

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #50 on: February 03, 2015, 10:55:59 am »
Personally I think using Joomla's multi-language features has the benefit more flexibility. You can decide what to display for each individual language. It's a little bit more work at the beginning, because you have to 'duplicate' the site structure for each lanaguage (for example every menu, category and a homepage for each language). But afterwards you can also decide for example to hide certain menus in one language. Joomla allows to have a different number of articles in a category for every languge.

Translating VirtueMart categories and products works (from the user's point of view) pretty similar to the Joomfish/Falang system, where each element is mirrored in the other other language(s). So if your primary site language is Farsi and you write a product description in Farsi, it automatically is added to the other language(s) (but not yet translated).
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #51 on: February 03, 2015, 14:54:02 pm »
no it is not added. We have fallback. Which means that if the selected language is not available it displays the mainlanguage. Very, very handy, because you can now create your store in one language and just translate your best sellers.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

yousefi

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #52 on: February 03, 2015, 18:36:40 pm »
It has some advantage and some disadvantage, dependent on what you want to do.
When use FaLang You are still enable to do what you do it before,
but more fast develop when you need a duplicate copy of every thing (menu, module and etc.)

however, the problem is this why after FaLang starts VirtueMart doesn't work truly!!???

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #53 on: February 03, 2015, 23:32:59 pm »
however, the problem is this why after FaLang starts VirtueMart doesn't work truly!!???
Well, I'm not a programmer. But FalLang is as far as I know not compatible with the Virtuemart multilanguage system. I don't know anybody who is sucessfully using FaLang together with VirtueMart.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4076
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Falang and VirtueMart conflict?
« Reply #54 on: March 16, 2015, 11:31:50 am »
Hi,
Thanks jjk to point to my virtuemart translator, for answer to falang you can try Joseta community http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/extension/languages/multi-lingual-content/josetta-community
Or the Pro release http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/extension/languages/multi-lingual-content/josetta
This use native Joomla database and can import from joomfish in PRO release(you can try the community version, to look if this was you need).

Studio 42