Author Topic: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)  (Read 14383 times)

Twix

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2012, 22:12:39 pm »
Relax Milbo, I'm just trying to help. You guys are doing great work, VM2 is looking awesome but only needs some polishing. If developers help more we could get the job done sooner.
It seems this bug happens with J2.5 and J1.7. Since TS have this bug in 1.7 and I in 2.5. If you first want to fix 1.7 I understand that. But I think there are lots of bugs in common with 1.7 and 2.5.

Quote
Twix your solution is maybe right, but I am quite sure not the way you used it in the vmcontroller. The vmcontroller is an abstract class!
I'm not such an expert in extension design, so I hope you can do something with the info and implement it in the correct way.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10073
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2012, 22:54:21 pm »
And to underline again! When you use vm2 and j2.5 and something is not working, expect also at least to same parts that j2.5 is the trouble,
Please read here https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/joomlabugsquad/ranF0ZDjizA , not everyone wants a google account, so here the most important stuff

Quote
Hello,
I have on all sites (!) where I install new extensions (on JED 2.5.0
compatible claims) or where we have upgraded from well functioning
Joomla 1.7.3 (amongst them our own sites) sites an issue with the "
select checkbox" in the majority of external components in the admin
backend. Any modifications with "edit" or even selecting them to do
something show

"Please first make a selection from the list"

Most (but not all) Joomla 1.7 compatible components installed on (and
we have done a major check this morning) all 2.5.0 sites are facing
this issue though not all. In migrated sites from Joomla 1.5 or
upgraded sites from Joomla 1.7 we do not face any issues in articles
or default distro Joomla components.

If I install for instance Flexbanners, Eventbooking, AceSEF,
Acymailing etc to mention a few they all run well in frontend (!)  but
I cannot edit anything but for creating new! I can create but nothing
else since I get the message as stated and this is a pure distro
install with nothing else on it! All our Joomla 1.7.3 upgraded
websites are facing this issue !

....

Leo

or just read this funny conversation between joomla frontman Brian Teeman and Nikosdion the head developer of akeeba

Quote
nikosdion: I knew it, I am not alone in this shit https://t.co/A2nz7igE Joomla! SERIOUSLY needs a regression policy, stat!
3:51am, Jan 28 from Twitter for Mac

brianteeman: @nikosdion this is what happens without a proper testing procedure INCLUDING upgrades
3:58am, Jan 28 from TweetDeck

nikosdion: @brianteeman Damn right! The responsibility is shifted to developers, but we can't predict BC breaking changes. We aren't psychics!
3:59am, Jan 28 from Twitter for Mac

brianteeman: @nikosdion agree - because updates couldnt be properly tested during beta stage all this stuff couldnt be tested
4:00am, Jan 28 from TweetDeck

nikosdion 4:01am via Twitter for Mac
@brianteeman Exactly. And adding a BC breaker right after the beta freeze isn't a good idea either. I can't test fully all the bloody time.


Sooo, I hope you understand now better why we wait before adapting vm2 to j2.5
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10073
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2012, 23:01:13 pm »
:-)

nonoo relaxing is not the rright thing for me.  I can be upset, but not angry. The case maybe now. More serious is, when I am not upset, but angry.

"If developers help more we could get the job done sooner." LOL, come on. What do you think I did today? I worked. What do you think I do tomorrow,.. I am working,.. fixing the problems arising here. But it is really contra productive to fix problems caused by bugs of another software, when there is a big chance they solve it next weeks anyway.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Twix

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2012, 23:04:49 pm »
Quote
"If developers help more we could get the job done sooner." LOL, come on. What do you think I did today? I worked. What do you think I do tomorrow,.. I am working,.. fixing the problems arising here. But it is really contra productive to fix problems caused by bugs of another software, when there is a big chance they solve it next weeks anyway.
Sorry for being unclear. I didn't mean you, I meant other developers outside of VM who could help you a hand.

I understand your reasons, updates are a pain in the ***, especially if there are still bugs in J.
Cheers.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10073
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2012, 01:02:28 am »
Heheh, you are right,...
how could I donkey think you mean the active team :-)
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ashish229

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2012, 10:07:39 am »
Hi there ,
1 i have started testing vm2 stable with joomla 2.5, many issues, incompatibilty etc . But i would like to thank you people who work hard to get the things right and put them working back.
2 I am very sure, in couple of weeks vm2 will be much more compatible with j2.5 and we will see a huge surge in the usage of vm.
3 i have a suggestion for you guys , you can start with a monthly donation plan in which anyone can donate some amount each month, i am absolutely ready for it. The same money can be used for further developing the code of vm. this way it will be developed much faster. People pay in excess of 200 $ per annum or appx 18 $ per month to get their stores hosted with sloppy and shaddy companies.
4 contribution from the members can be used to refine the code and can be published in a column under refined by contributions or something like this.
5 wish great success to vm and quick compatibilty to vm2 with j2.5

Regards
ashish

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10073
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc
« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2012, 12:39:16 pm »
2 I am very sure, in couple of weeks vm2 will be much more compatible with j2.5 and we will see a huge surge in the usage of vm.
Yes, personally I think j2.5.2 and vm2.0.2 will be a cool stable plateform.

3 i have a suggestion for you guys , you can start with a monthly donation plan in which anyone can donate some amount each month, i am absolutely ready for it. The same money can be used for further developing the code of vm.

Our idea is to make a shop, instead of a donation, people can buy there nice, funky plugins.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

jeorcal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 181
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)
« Reply #22 on: February 02, 2012, 08:59:17 am »
I think the same than ashish229 , the main problem of VM is that it is free , then it will come when it will come ... some day over the rainbows , and no real support , I'd prefer to pay 250 € and get it with  a real support  and ready for J2.5  because nobody want J16 or J17

thanks to the team anyway

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10073
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)
« Reply #23 on: February 02, 2012, 17:07:39 pm »
This is coming, but that takes time. btw you may try the upcoming 2.0.1.c with j2.5

and you did not read correctly! The main problems ith vm2 and j2.5 are rooted by j2.5.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

iDanny

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)
« Reply #24 on: February 07, 2012, 15:12:32 pm »
Hi guys,

Good job on the new VM.

I'm currently testing it on J2.51 and have this thread's initial error with taxes and some other interfaces.

Someone mentioned here a week ago that VM isn't supported for J2.5 ! Hum, what ? That would be a problem as J1.7 is now 3 days away from being EOL  :P

Anyhoot, back to the source. My error log show the following:
[Tue Feb 07 09:00:36 2012] [warn] [client 70.29.242.106] mod_fcgid: stderr: PHP Fatal error: Call to a member function getResultsCounter() on a non-object in /var/www/vhosts/6degres.ca/dev/joomla25/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/views/calc/tmpl/default.php on line 38, referer: http://dev.6degres.ca/joomla25/administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=calc&task=edit&cid[]=1

Is this in the same line of problems ? Has a fix been found / applied ?

Thanks so much for your help!
Danny



jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27942
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)
« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2012, 17:12:24 pm »
Someone mentioned here a week ago that VM isn't supported for J2.5 !

A week is a long time. Are you using VM2.0.1e?n http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=96945.0

If you are using that version please report your error problem in the bug report board: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?board=127.0
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 3.8.7 10374 on Joomla 3.9.23 PHP 7.4.12

prismalight

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Error when editing Manufacturers etc (mainly j2.5)
« Reply #26 on: February 14, 2012, 19:52:10 pm »
Hi guys,
good to know that I am not the only one who is phasing this problem.
The only wired thing is that I had everything working. No problems, could add products, manufactures ..
and suddenly I can no edit or add button is working at VM?
Hope to get a solution soon. Keep moving great work !!
Installed version VM 2.0.0
Latest version VM 2.0.0
Latest release date 2011-12-19
and J2.5.1
Thanks a lot for the great JOB