News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

New to Joomla and Virtumart. Is 2.0 a good option at this time

Started by dwlamb, January 21, 2012, 20:46:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwlamb

Good day,

I am new to Joomla and VirtueMart trying to assist a friend set-up an online store.  I am finding the learning curve difficult for it seems VM 2 is a departure from previous versions.  Joomla 1.8 is fairly new as well.  Documentation I can find on this site and the net in general pertains to combinations of Joomla 1.7 and VM 1.1.x  Added to that, there are threads here which are demonstrative of all the angst that is inevitable with a new major release in software development.  Things like whether VM 2 really should be deployed to a live site at this time.

I've installed Joomla 1.8 & VM 2 on a development site but seem to be missing many modules if I compare what I see on a Joomla 1.8 & VM 2 Module page to a Joomla 1.7 & VM 1.1.x Module page.

As someone starting out from scratch to build an e-commerce site and make it live, is this a good time to start with Joomla 1.8 & VM 2 or should I step back to Joomla 1.7 & VM 1.1x?

Thanks for taking time to read this and hope someone can assist.  This flat spot from banging my head is getting quite annoying.

jenkinhill

Where did you get Joomla 1.8 from? At the moment the current recent release package is Joomla 1.7.3 or Joomla 2.5RC1  - with Joomla 2.5 to be released next week. But don't use that yet with VirtueMart 2.  The other version of VirtueMart is 1.1.9 which only works on Joomla 1.5 - and that version of Joomla goes end of life in 3 months.

You really need to familiarise yourself with Joomla itself first. Too many people start installing heavy components into Joomla without understanding the basics of templating or menus, or the differences between components, modules or plugins.