Author Topic: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime  (Read 7428 times)

Kathycr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« on: January 17, 2012, 03:21:15 am »
Help please.
I have installed joomla 1.7.2 and Virtuemart 2.0.0 version.
I think a product and upload an image. In pictures of the product -> change the title of the image, when saving, I get the following error.

vmError: Couldnt resolve mime images/stories/virtuemart/product/3-17.jpg

How I can fix it?

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10375
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 18:24:26 pm »
but it still uploads right?
J3.9+ VM 3.4.2
Slowest Page Speed Score (88) (Category)
Fastest Page Speed Score (94-96) (productdetails)

Henrik Holm Nielsen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 12:43:05 pm »
I have this error/message as well...

Image uploads correct, and there is no errormessage when product is saved first time after choosing image for upload. But on every subsequent save of the product, the message appears, even though the image is still there and seems to be handled correct by VM.

I use J1.7.3 and VM 2.0
/Zorroson :)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Billigt og professionelt design af din hjemmeside | Brug for en billig, flot og professionel hjemmeside?

imclaudia

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2012, 22:54:44 pm »
I too have this issue.
Nothing changed on server side.
image folders are set to 777.
I cannot edit titles or info on any image the 'Attach a New Image" link does not display all images. It contains some text and garbled info.
I tied deleting the product and starting from scratch, same issue.


My version s 1.9.8H

moonclimber

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2012, 18:38:23 pm »
Hi everybody,

I get crazy too  :'( - I have worked several days to solve this problem. I hope one of the Administrators read this post !


The moonclimber

Henrik Holm Nielsen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2012, 19:00:02 pm »
It probably wont help saying this, but I actually got the problem disappear by moving the entire site to different server/host - without changing anything else, than server URL in the configuration... So there's definately a serverside of this issue, that could also be the reason!
/Zorroson :)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Billigt og professionelt design af din hjemmeside | Brug for en billig, flot og professionel hjemmeside?

moonclimber

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2012, 00:34:59 am »
Hi Hendrik,

this sounds very strange .... but if this will help I will try it too on a subdomain.

the -moonclimber-

bhajohn

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2012, 21:41:56 pm »
I have the same situation and it's very frustrating.  I have tried all the suggestions, even reinstalling on a new domain, yet still:

Code: [Select]
vmError: Couldnt resolve mime images/stories/virtuemart/...
For every image uploaded.  Resolving a mime should be a non-issue in my experience, yet, here it is.

I have all my images uploaded for each product, a very time consuming thing, but then, in the category and product display page, the default NO IMAGE image is there.  When I try to sync media, a long series of "vmError: Couldnt resolve mime images/stories/virtuemart/..." is displayed.

It's not permissions, it's not server related (two different servers for me and same result, even in Standalone JSAS).

I am hopeful that someone who has seen and solved this mystery can share their solution?
BhaJohn Dasa (john)
Astoria, Oregon, USA

teobgeno

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • www.netpin.gr
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2012, 05:27:00 am »
I had the same issue and after some research i found at  administrator/components/com_virtuemart/tables/medias.php this call
$this->file_mimetype = mime_content_type(JPATH_ROOT.DS.$rel_path);

and some lines below the vmError('Couldnt resolve mime '.$rel_path);

 php.net mention that
"This function has been deprecated as the PECL extension Fileinfo provides the same functionality (and more) in a much cleaner way. "
http://php.net/manual/en/function.mime-content-type.php

I replace the mime_content_type() function call  with a custom function i found on the url above and seems to work properly now.

berghoff

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2012, 10:42:03 am »
Thanks teobgeno for your clue
I've just added ! like not on function recognition because all algorithms are already described in medias.php line 186
"if(!function_exists('mime_content_type') ){"

ronrazib

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2012, 00:07:47 am »
so, what is the solution?
i found $this->file_mimetype = mime_content_type(JPATH_ROOT.DS.$rel_path);
what to do with it?

bornakke

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: vmError: Couldnt resolve mime
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2012, 13:22:34 pm »
In 2.0.10 somebody seems to have tried to fix the problem. However still not working here. What worked for me is:

1) Uncomment from line 185 to line 222 in medias.php (both lines inclusive)
2) Uncomment } in line 302.

Enjoy.