News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

VM 2 Released Too Soon?

Started by rossstudio, January 13, 2012, 16:03:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rossstudio

I am new to VM and saw that version 2 was out. I downloaded it and started playing around with it and just got frustrated.

There is no manual. Trying to use the old manual just doesn't work with VM 2.
Some issues, like simple drop down and custom entry fields are unavailable or unusable.
Bug issues too numerous to mention.

I guess free is what you pay for. I'm sure eventually these issue will be worked out but I need something now and going back to VM 1.x isn't an option.

I'm greatful for the effort put in by those who contributed to creating this, just wish it worked better than it does. I'm not a programer and don't know code. I need something that I thought would be simple, but maybe I"m dreaming (even the pay carts have issues. what is it about carts that are so difficult?)

jenkinhill

If you have been following the testing of betas and pre-release version of VM2 in this forum and elsewhere you will realise that there was a considerable (and vocal) demand for users for an early release date. Indeed, many VM stores are live now using pre-release versions, as well as those using the final version.

It is a simple fact with any new version software to be used on/for a website that first releases will most likely have problems for some users. This is because serious users do the testing during development stages. These will not be using commercial templates, other JavaScript heavy modules or anything else that can get in the way. For example I test with vanilla Joomla versions, newly installed and usually using the Beez template. Thus I would not see issues that may be caused by overly engineered commercial templates and the like.