Author Topic: Disable shipping VM2  (Read 22297 times)

charleypowell

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Disable shipping VM2
« on: January 01, 2012, 07:02:30 AM »
Hi,

Does anyone know if there is a way to disable shipping in VM2?

Thank you

pherison

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 11:25:45 AM »
i need the same answer?

supermac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 12:58:32 PM »
'til now I just seen a way to set a predefined shipping method, but I'd like too a BYPASS SHIPPING option somewhere

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10663
  • VM4.0.232 Eagle Owl
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 4 on joomla 3
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2012, 17:42:30 PM »
What do you mean with this?
When you do a shipment method, which is always preselectable, then it should be done already.

Maybe the checkout is showing it again, even it is already preselected in the cart, then we must decide if this is wanted or not.. if we add a config setting, or if it is easy overridable.
Should I fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

supermac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2012, 15:18:28 PM »
Sorry for my terrible english Milbo!
I mean that my shop doesn't need any shipment, so I'd like to hide from the shop all the matter related to shipment (customer shipment address in cart, shipment checkout, etc...)
Is there a "disable shipment" option in shop configuration or somewhere else?
Thank you
(and greetings from italy)

daviz87

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2012, 15:37:09 PM »
I also need the same option of Supermac, I have to delete the whole part of the expedition, because my products are services.
You have any solution for this? I too am Italian  :D

juagicre

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2012, 13:02:08 PM »
Hi italian guys and milbo,
What i did (inspired by someone from this forum) was to create a free shipment and preselect it automatically, so this was my way to bypass the shipment step, as i don't know anything from the "very expected" donwloable-products-plugin (and i'm using vm 2.0.1).
As seen, a lot of people is just selling virtual products (services) so this should be a bit more easy, but as i've read from milbo, Rome wasn't build in one day... let's wait for this ;)
NOW I ASK (this may also happen to italian guys if they use my "shipment" solution):
What else needs a registered user to "confirm order" and go directly to the payment screen? When my users press for the first time the "confirm order" button, they get redirected to a "re-register user information", really wired, I still don't understand what is this... see image for more info, and thanks!


[attachment cleanup by admin]

dnlvsci

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 22:55:42 PM »
I used  too in VM2.0 what juagicre say . Now wm 2.01d i get this message ->We are sorry, no shipment method matches the characteristics of your order. In VM1 you can easly disable the shpping just disable the shipping step in checkout steps. I don't know why missing this option  in VM2.....

bagou01

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2012, 13:50:22 PM »
i might need this too...

chadgarber

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • Garber Consulting, Inc.
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2012, 16:59:50 PM »
I am looking for the exact same solution.
I also need the same option of Supermac, I have to delete the whole part of the expedition, because my products are services.
You have any solution for this? I too am Italian  :
Chad Garber
Web Developer/Computer Support
770.639.4847
Garber Consulting, Inc.
http://garberconsulting.net

chadgarber

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • Garber Consulting, Inc.
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2012, 20:58:56 PM »
Why so much silence?
Chad Garber
Web Developer/Computer Support
770.639.4847
Garber Consulting, Inc.
http://garberconsulting.net

EleGenius

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2012, 02:44:49 AM »
Guys it's pretty simple. If you don't need shipping then under the shop tab found in configuration tick the box that says 'Use only as catalogue ' and this will disable shipping.

dnlvsci

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2012, 11:02:05 AM »
Guys it's pretty simple. If you don't need shipping then under the shop tab found in configuration tick the box that says 'Use only as catalogue ' and this will disable shipping.

If you use this you can't buy anything! This disable all of shop functions

chadgarber

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • Garber Consulting, Inc.
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2012, 18:12:59 PM »
Eactly what dnlvsci said. We still want to be able to have people buy from the site, we just want to skip the shipping step.
Guys it's pretty simple. If you don't need shipping then under the shop tab found in configuration tick the box that says 'Use only as catalogue ' and this will disable shipping.

If you use this you can't buy anything! This disable all of shop functions
Chad Garber
Web Developer/Computer Support
770.639.4847
Garber Consulting, Inc.
http://garberconsulting.net

DiveO2

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Believe in yourself...
Re: Disable shipping VM2
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2012, 21:59:41 PM »
SAME QUESTION AS EVERYONE KEEPS ASKING....
How does one switch off the shipping function in VM2 please?

Worded another way..... I don't want shipping

Worded another way...... My customers do not want or need shipping

Worded another way....... I can't let my customers buy anything from my on-line shop because they can't get past the shipping module!

Is that simple enough?
If anyone has a solution for this, would you kindly post the answer into this forum?
(Joomla! 2.5.4, VM 2.0.7c, PHP 5.3.10)   Do try and be clear & concise in your answers to fellow forum members, it will save confusion and frustration with the original poster (and future visitors) in re-asking the question again and again...