Author Topic: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)  (Read 1246 times)

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • A beginner
VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« on: December 07, 2019, 18:13:59 pm »
Hi,
I didn't see this problem posted anywhere else so if it is please let me know.
VM update issue running Joomla 3.9.13  VM 3.6.10 [MAYBE] but probably 3.6.6. Apache server php 7.2

The VM update from 3.6.6 to 3.6.8 failed about a month ago. It timed out.  I tried to download and install the update but it still timed out. VM indicated it was at 3.6.8 and was no longer calling for an update.
I got distracted and forgot all about it.
Today I tried to update VM to 3.6.10 and the update timed out and had a security error. I thoughtlessly closed the message and so I didn't get the details.
I am pretty confident that I'm actually running VM 3.6.6 but my system thinks I'm now at 3.6.10 and is again not calling for an update. 
I tried downloading and installing from the zip file but the update timed out again.
I have not tried to update AIO at all since 3.6.6 but it is listed at 3.6.8!
Does anyone know what could cause this or how to fix it?  Your help would be greatly appreciated.

M

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2747
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2019, 20:42:25 pm »
Install again, and Do not forget to install AIO when the core has been installed.

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.18
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27729
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2019, 14:18:32 pm »
You appear to have had update issues since September.  http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=143496.msg507205#msg507205  But you don't seem to continue within those threads to try to get a resolution.

Timeout during updating often means server issues, which can generally be solved by using Akeeba to copy the live site and installing that copy on localhost.  Then update on lcalhost, test and if OK use Akeeba to copy that working version back to the server.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.8.0 10314 on Joomla 3.9.16 PHP 7.0.33

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3647
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2019, 16:43:54 pm »
After failed updates it's sometimes also a good idea to clear the tmp folders of your domain root and Joomla root folders.
And perhaps increase the max_execution_time in your php.ini file a little bit.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

mikidudle

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • A beginner
Re: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2020, 00:13:49 am »
I want to thank all who replied to this thread.

I was about to post additional problems but it appears that I rec'd answers but was not notified!  I apologize.  I'm now getting an invalid update error but am pretty sure I know why now.  However, how do I uninstall and then reinstall VM without loosing the DB info?  Your input would be greatly appreciated - anticipated - and not ignored.

Gratefully,
Mike

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27729
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: VM 3.6.10 Update Fails (3.6.8 failed too?)
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2020, 11:57:47 am »
You do not uninstall VirtueMart unless absolutely essential! But if you do the database is not deleted and will be there when you reinstall. If the database is from an older VM version then you should use the "Install or if necessary update tables" tool.

This is the sort of thing that should not be done on a live site!
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.8.0 10314 on Joomla 3.9.16 PHP 7.0.33