Author Topic: Ability to set currency conversion rate manually  (Read 1863 times)

stawebnice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
  • What does not kill you, makes you stronger...
    • StaWEBnice - www stránky, seo optimalizace a copywriting
  • Skype Name: peta_ze_sklepa
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.14
Ability to set currency conversion rate manually
« on: November 29, 2011, 22:33:55 pm »
Hi,

Is there any way to set the currency conversion rate between two currencies used by Virtuemart manually?

Client does not want to use the conversion rate that is automatically used by Virtuemart. He would like to be able to set it himself.

Is there any extension for this or a way to change this manually within the code of VM 1.1.7?

Please help.

Petra

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27569
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Ability to set currency conversion rate manually
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 22:43:56 pm »
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.8.10197 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

stawebnice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
  • What does not kill you, makes you stronger...
    • StaWEBnice - www stránky, seo optimalizace a copywriting
  • Skype Name: peta_ze_sklepa
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.14
Re: Ability to set currency conversion rate manually
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 23:23:03 pm »
Thanks a lot, just want to make sure I understand it correctly (I'm not quite familiar with the terms chown and chmod, just guessing)

1. I should take file ..\cache\daily.xml and update the rate for the currency within this file.
2. Move the file daily.xml from cache folder to root
3. Update it's rights to 644 using Total Commander

Now I am not sure how to tell Virtuemart to look for the file in root instead of the cache folder

stawebnice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
  • What does not kill you, makes you stronger...
    • StaWEBnice - www stránky, seo optimalizace a copywriting
  • Skype Name: peta_ze_sklepa
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.14
Re: Ability to set currency conversion rate manually
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2011, 23:40:44 pm »
Guess I understand it now. Setting the file's attributes to 644 will do it all? And prevent the original source from rewriting the file automatically?

So I only change the file's rights to 644 and keep it in the Cache folder.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27569
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Ability to set currency conversion rate manually
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2011, 16:23:41 pm »
444 would be better. If you can chown it (change ownership) then that is even "safer".
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.8.10197 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33