News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

[Solved]Products visible by shopper group?

Started by Cleanshooter, October 28, 2011, 20:20:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cleanshooter

Is it possible to make certain products visible to certain groups of shoppers?  For example I have 3 products A, B and C  I want product A to be visible by both Shopper Group 1 and Shopper Group 2.  However I want B to only show up for Shopper group 1 and C should only show up for shopper group 2. 

I'm wondering if this would be possible "as is" in VirtueMart or if it would need to be developed as an extension?  Or maybe someone has already developed an extension that does this, bu then the question is does it work with VM2?

Thanks for any replies in advance.

Cleanshooter
- Cleanshooter

Cleanshooter

I started working on a patch to do what I described above.  Problem is when it comes to .php, MVC and VM I'm still a beginner (We all start somewhere).  The link below is the patch file as it is now.

Shopper Group Product Visibility Patch

I've basically gotten the Shopper Group list to display where I want it and how I want it.  I've also manually created a relation table (similar to the 'product_categories' table).  I followed the way the Categories were added to the view because I want to be able to select multiple shoppergroups, however there is a ton of code associated with Categories (ordering, treeLists, rendering ect....) some of which I won't even pretend to understand.  I realized that I didn't need a lot of the category code but now I don't know how to get what I want to work.  The problem is that my experience with MVC and php is limited and I'm stuck on getting the data to the table.