Author Topic: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread  (Read 189401 times)

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10272
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« on: September 12, 2011, 15:02:49 pm »
There are no more simple attributes with 2.0.
They are now in the "custom fields".
Custom fields also handles child products.

This thread is for tips and questions on custom field administration.

http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Product_custom_fields_without_stock_control


attached pdf shows the custom field configuration for simple dropdown.



[attachment cleanup by admin]
I do NOT do development work for hire.

PRO

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10272
  • VirtueMart Version: 3+
Re: No More Simple Product Attributes?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 18:35:10 pm »
For a simple dropdown for color/size etc.

Click "Custom Fields" in vmart admin.
1)Add 1 just like the picture attached.
2)Go into the product/custom field tab
3)Click the dropdown and choose the custom field you just setup.
4) The field appears below with ajax.
5) You can now edit that field.
6) To add more sizes/colors. Repeat step 3.




[attachment cleanup by admin]
I do NOT do development work for hire.

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2252
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2011, 22:28:47 pm »
Hi,

I have do it for you ;)
Add a language key if customprice = 0 :
COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_PRICE_FREE="Free";
Simply edit it you can set it to ""; then nothing is displayed
or - or +++ or wath you want but it set by lnaguage then change it in all selected language.

Greets,

 Patrick

Pisu

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • ..still looking for..
    • Blog di Stefano Bagnatica
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 17:55:30 pm »
Did you remove "User Variant" field type in latest build (2.0.0-RC-2i ) ?

I found in customfields.php these commented lines:

Code: [Select]
// 'U'=>'COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_CART_USER_VARIANT',
// 'C'=>'COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_PRODUCT_CHILD',
// 'G'=>'COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_PRODUCT_CHILD_GROUP',
// 'R'=>'COM_VIRTUEMART_RELATED_PRODUCT',
// 'Z'=>'COM_VIRTUEMART_RELATED_CATEGORY',

Will you re-introduce them in final release?

Thanks
Pisu - Team VMItalia (Supporto Italiano VirtueMart)
www.stefanobagnatica.it | www.vmitalia.net

virtue111

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2011, 21:54:18 pm »
Originally posted this here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?board=132.0 but if we get an answer we will put it here, vice versa:

We would like to make a custom field, with a preset of selections that will come with it. For simple sake let's say we want to make a "Color" variant, and have the options of "Red" "blue" and "green".

I have figured out how to get the Color attribute to show up on the product, and then I can type in "Red", "Blue", and "Green" into the Ajaxy fields. But we have a ton of products and don't want to have to go in and type them all manually.

Is there anyway to make "Color" a parent, and make "Red" "Blue" and "Green" be child items, so that they will always come up? And then we could use the Ajaxy thing to delete "Red" if we didn't want it for a certain product, or to add "Purple" if we needed it specifically for a product?

It seems like this should be easy to do, but we just can't get it to work.

I thought maybe adding the Parent item, and setting it to "Is a List" and then adding child items of "Strings" but this doesn't work either. Please help!


Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9336
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2011, 10:21:11 am »
http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Product_custom_fields_without_stock_control

"How to group a set of Custom Fields?
You can group together a set of Custom Fields."
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

zzsser

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • I love virtuemart but I dislike bugs :-(
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2011, 12:59:47 pm »
Thank you for your reply but this is not what we are trying to do.

What you mean is grouping custom fields, for example like this:

Inserting Parent "all_my_fields" add automatically:
       Child "colour" (showing a list with only one colour, all other colors have to be manually typed)
       Child "size" (showing a list with only one size, all other sizes have to be manually typed)
       Child "..." (showing a list with only one ..., all other ... have to be manually typed)

What we would like is inserting Field "Colour" with all its variables (blue, red, grey,...) automatically.


This way doesn't work:

Inserting Parent "Colour" doesn't add automatically:
       Child "blue"
       Child "red"
       Child "..."

Patrick

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2011, 19:28:28 pm »
Thank you for your reply but this is not what we are trying to do.

What you mean is grouping custom fields, for example like this:

Inserting Parent "all_my_fields" add automatically:
       Child "colour" (showing a list with only one colour, all other colors have to be manually typed)
       Child "size" (showing a list with only one size, all other sizes have to be manually typed)
       Child "..." (showing a list with only one ..., all other ... have to be manually typed)

What we would like is inserting Field "Colour" with all its variables (blue, red, grey,...) automatically.


This way doesn't work:

Inserting Parent "Colour" doesn't add automatically:
       Child "blue"
       Child "red"
       Child "..."

Same problem over here when I group field, I only get the parent with underlaying fields. not a multiple number of same fields.
If I want to group:
Parent    -Colour-RED
              -Colour-BLue
               -option-1
               -option-2
When I add parent I get:
Parent -Colour-XX
            -option-XX
When I add parent again
another Parent appears with same options.
Just want the colour and option added to multiple product with 1 CLICK...

dbgold

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2012, 08:36:07 am »
What is it now? The WWW is full of the same questions there is a fault in the program!
all have the same problem and it is preparing a host of labor, but there has to be time for a solution

Google translation

bepos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2012, 08:41:30 am »
well i guess they don't see it as a problem. or they don't understand what the problem is.

werden2000

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2012, 23:42:37 pm »
Same problem...

I want to create Parent field (Colors), and child fields (Black, white, red,...), so when im creating a new product just choose colors parent field and put all the colors in a dropdown list... i view all the links of previous posts and nothing solve this problem...

it displays...something like this...

dropdownlist-Colors
another dropdownlist-black
another dropdownlist-white
another dropdownlist-red...

and not what i need

ONLY ONE DROPDOWN LIST
BLACK
WHITE
RED...

hope someone can help me

woonydanny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 110
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2012, 11:22:53 am »
VM is useless without this as an easy to use feature. It seems so hard to add variants in VM2, and the descriptions on how to do it are so convoluted and complex this extension is not suitable for your average web shop owner to manage themselves.

This desperately needs to be overhauled in VM2!!

woonydanny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 110
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2012, 11:35:59 am »
For a simple dropdown for color/size etc.

4) The field appears below with ajax.

No ajax area for me to edit/complete.  :(

JJBW

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2012, 12:26:01 pm »
This is a major problem which may cause users to move away which would be a huge shame especially after all the hard work that has gone into VM2.

Apart from this issue which seems to be the main issue everyone wants sorted VM2 is excellent, let's not let this issue dampen things.

rossstudio

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Attributes/Custom Fields Thread
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2012, 15:54:01 pm »
Can there be a text entry custom field? Seems like other carts have this but not VM2. I could use it.