News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

VM/SEO Expert Needed For Coaching On SE Strategy

Started by ronsweet2, September 09, 2011, 02:16:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ronsweet2

Hello:

We have a Joomla (v. 1.5.22) web site located at www.mjjcollectors.com using VM v. 1.1.5.  We have built a content-rich web site that consists of several THOUSANDS of custom listings within VirtueMart.  Now we are very interested in developing a strategy to benefit from the content within VM, by improving our SE rankings, especially for Google. 

I have studied this forum at length, especially any thread that involves SEO, SEFs, etc.  I'm not a programmer, but I did contract with a VM expert last year who helped us set up our site's database.  When we set up the site, we discussed at length the pluses and minuses of using SEFs, and based on his suggestion it was decided that we turn Joomla's SEFs "off".  Based on my understanding, the URLs generated from the SEFs were not permanent (meaning that they could change), and that really wasn't an option for us.  Also, he suggested to us that search engines read the longer, non-SEF's just as well (therefore, would not help us in SE rankings), so there really wasn't a compelling motivation to re-enable them.

However, reading through this forum, I see that the Joomla and VM SEFs are discussed at length, so I would be interested to hearing from some of you if such a method would work for us.  The same programmer recently told me that keywords are not even visible to the SEs, therefore are also not a necessary factor in improving SE rankings. 

I recently did a "view source" on one of our VM listings, and this is what I copied from the top:

<head>
  <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
  <meta name="robots" content="index, follow, archive" />
  <meta name="keywords" content="" />