Author Topic: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus  (Read 6702 times)

media991

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« on: August 23, 2011, 06:18:46 am »
Hi All,

We are trying to install virtuemart 2.3 beta3 on Joomla 1.7.0 and when we install we get the following error:

"error building admin menus"

Does anyone know a fix or experienced the same problem?

Thanks

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3549
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

media991

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2011, 02:03:33 am »
Thanks for the reply, we've downloaded and tried to install http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/312/virtuemart1.9.8.RC2d_extract_first.zip

however we still get the following errors in 1.7

        * JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find Joomla XML setup file
        * JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file
        * Error building Admin Menus

Any other suggestions?

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3549
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2011, 10:01:50 am »
Did you really unzip the downloaded file first? Also, there already is a newer VM2 release (1.9.8F) available. After unzipping it you will have com_virtuemart.1.9.8F.zip and mods_virtuemart_allinone.1.9.8f.zip.
If you did unzip the downloaded file and still have the same problem, try to upload  com_virtuemart.1.9.8F.zip into a temporary folder in your Joomla root directory. For example: root\tmp\VM2 and then use "Install from directory" in the Joomla installer view. (The reason is that it is possible that your server limits the number of files which can be extracted)
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

media991

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2011, 07:22:37 am »
Still didnt seem to work, so going back to joomla 1.6.

Thanks

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2011, 17:25:11 pm »
Hi Media 991,
Thanks for the reply, we've downloaded and tried to install http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/312/virtuemart1.9.8.RC2d_extract_first.zip

however we still get the following errors in 1.7

        * JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find Joomla XML setup file
        * JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file
        * Error building Admin Menus

Any other suggestions?


YOu ahve to unzip the package before install the 2 files in joomla.

Best regards,

Patrick

giorgio61

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2011, 13:57:42 pm »
Hello. i am having the same problem reported here though there have been some minor updates since august when this thread was started.
just in brief: i have a clean installation of joomla 1.7 now upgraded to 1.7.1.  and i would like to install virtuemart 2 beta

when install com_virtuemart.1.9.8G.zip i get the 2 messages
-  Installing component was successful.
-  Error building Admin Menus

but i dont find virtuemart in the component list and therefore i cannot lauch the application though the component and the modules are installed.
in other posts i read that people is using succesfully this environemt. where is my mistake?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2011, 14:04:26 pm »
Use mysql, I had the problem also lately. I just uninstalled and reinstalled it until it worked. It is afaik a joomla error, I dont have any clue why there is a problem with it. I already looked in the joomla source code.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3549
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

giorgio61

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2011, 16:02:38 pm »
Thank you MILBO! you gave me the idea that solved my problem. I opened the menu table in mysql and found a record for Virtuemart that was added there by the installation procedure.
Though i didnt know if there was something wrong and how to change it I compared that record with the ones of the other elements contained in the admin components menu. I found something different in the column menutype, component_id and language. i changed it and now it works
but it was just luck. how do u think that this record was inserted in a wrong way?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2011, 18:25:53 pm »
Maybe I should add this
Code: [Select]
//admin-menu-items-paths do not seem to get rebuild when a component gets installed
      //so here is a temp workaround
      $table = JTable::getInstance('Menu', 'JTable', array());   
      //get menuitems ids
      $this->db->setQuery("SELECT id FROM #__menu WHERE menutype='_adminmenu' AND path='' ");
      $menuids = $this->db->loadObjectList();                 
      foreach($menuids as $menuid){
         $table->rebuildPath($menuid->id);               
      }

In the preflight method,... it throws an error but it should at least work then.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3549
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2011, 19:04:59 pm »
Here is a hint on how Akeeba solves it: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p=2584531#p2584531
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Jeff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • Web Stokers
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2011, 05:01:11 am »
i love forums. in phpmyadmin go to table **_menu and delete the entry COM_VIRTUEMART. now go reinstall the component. worked for me!!

 ;D
Jeff MacDougall

brooklynite

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Virtuemart 2.0-beta3 - error building admin menus
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2011, 19:20:57 pm »
i love forums. in phpmyadmin go to table **_menu and delete the entry COM_VIRTUEMART. now go reinstall the component. worked for me!!

 ;D

Thanks, after reading through several forums about this issue. I tried your method and it worked like a charm. ;)