Author Topic: VM2 & Joomla 1.7  (Read 42442 times)

kyovev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2011, 19:55:34 pm »
Milbo, thank you very much for the information - i will probably wait for 1/7. If my store go well i will  donate some cash to support this project.  Have a nice day ;)

imat

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2011, 08:36:50 am »
Hi!

Is VM2 now safe to run with Joomla 1.7 for 'proper' site (ie not just for testing)?

Thanks :-)

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3419
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2011, 09:13:32 am »
Depends  ;) - if you can get along with the basic shop functions, I would say yes. A few of the goodies built into VM2 still need some finetuning.
And at present the choice of payment plugins still is very limited. If you are new to VirtueMart 2, setting up the shop might take some learning time, because there is no user manual available at this time.
At the moment I would recommend to wait a few days for the RC1.9.8.H release, which fixes many small problems again.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

imat

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2011, 10:17:30 am »
Thanks jjk!

Are all the appropriate security measures stable? And does it accept Paypal?

:-)

imat

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #19 on: September 30, 2011, 10:18:31 am »
Also, does 'a couple of days' really mean a couple of days or does it mean a couple of months? ;)

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9789
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2011, 11:19:14 am »
a couple of days means a couple of days.

Security,. hmm big issue. We did what we can do to make it safe. But we need some hackers who actually attack vm2 to see how safe it is.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

patrickvbw

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2011, 13:21:55 pm »
If i want to use VM as Catalogue only, would this version be ok to use in an production site?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9789
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2011, 13:29:25 pm »
YES
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

imat

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #23 on: October 01, 2011, 03:33:56 am »
Ok, thanks for your replies!

So when you say hackers to test security in VM2, are you referring to the version coming up in a couple of days?

And does it accept paypal?

:-)

imat

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #24 on: October 03, 2011, 03:39:17 am »
And where can I read about the new release / how will I know when it's available?

Thanks :)

iTD

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #25 on: November 06, 2011, 21:58:32 pm »
Which download link says it is only for j1.5?
Says it pertaining to v1.1.9 right here:
http://virtuemart.net/downloads

Which version do I use for Joomla 1.7???

Thanks!

alatak

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
    • alatak.net
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #26 on: November 07, 2011, 09:48:59 am »
Hi,
For Joomla 1.7 , you should use the version
virtuemart1.9.8.RC2?_extract_first.zip

? being the latest from the list from that page:
http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files

NelsonB.

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #27 on: November 08, 2011, 23:35:42 pm »
If virtuemart works with Joomla 1.7 why does the download link say that it is only for 1.5x??

Although this thread is somehow old, and I'm pretty sure this is the million dollar question that keeps repeating over and over everywhere, but really, is it Virtuemart latest released/stable version compatible with Joomla 1.7?

If so,  why does the download link say that it is only for 1.5x? (like the post quoted above)

Where is that link?
Here: http://virtuemart.net/downloads

"VirtueMart 1.1.9 is the latest stable version available. It is compatible with Joomla! 1.5.x only!"

I'm a developer and my company is ready to start working on this big humongous project where Virtuemart will fit perfectly for both the company and the client.

If I understand all of this correctly, VirtueMart 1.1.9 is compatible only with Joomla 1.5, BUT, VM2 is compatible with Joomla 1.7, am I right?

Could someone please give me a definitive answer?

Thanks in advance.

Nelson.

kpg

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • konzeptplus
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #28 on: November 09, 2011, 11:37:29 am »
Hi,

@NeslonB. The Url to find the latest Version is: http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files

It is Version M at the moment. And yes it is running on Joomla 1.7. x But i can't tell if it is perfect stable. It's a RC.  I made a sub-Joomla to test it.

Now i have my own question:

Beacause i don't want to wait to start filling the shop and change the default Layout's of it, i don't no if i can install the RC on a livesite without the risk of a security-issue and the problem of the Upgrade. When i upgrade the VM2 to the final release (hopefully soon) (and thanks for the work at this point) will it overried the allready made changes?

Thanks for the respond

Tobi

alatak

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
    • alatak.net
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #29 on: November 09, 2011, 11:40:07 am »
Hi,

Quote
Beacause i don't want to wait to start filling the shop and change the default Layout's of it, i don't no if i can install the RC on a livesite without the risk of a security-issue and the problem of the Upgrade. When i upgrade the VM2 to the final release (hopefully soon) (and thanks for the work at this point) will it overried the allready made changes?

Template overwritting should be in the template folder.
If u do it that way, then an update will not overwrite your work.
Please read this:
http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Hints_for_the_use_of_the_template_system