Author Topic: VM2 & Joomla 1.7  (Read 42706 times)

TRIPLEdm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • TRIPLEdm
VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« on: July 08, 2011, 18:05:31 pm »
Will VM2 work with Joomla 1.7 or do we have an estimated date for version release that will work with Joomla 1.7?

In and all info appreciated and asking with greatest respect and gratitude for all the hard work the VM team puts in. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!
JC
www.tripledm.com
www.sapromo.com
"... Yesterday is History, Tomorrow is a Mystery, Today is a gift, that's why we call it Present"

Eugen S.

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 255
  • Hire me for individual customization work => info
    • Virtuemart Themes
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2011, 20:37:35 pm »
Will VM2 work with Joomla 1.7 or do we have an estimated date for version release that will work with Joomla 1.7?

In and all info appreciated and asking with greatest respect and gratitude for all the hard work the VM team puts in. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!

it will work ;-)
Send me a pm ;-)

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3440
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2011, 20:48:31 pm »
It's already working on my Joomla 1.7RC test site  ;)
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

Minh BlackRed

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • VirtueMart Version: 2
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2011, 08:41:26 am »
Forget 1.7 and think about 1.8 compatible  ;)
VM Responsive
shop.littledevil-tuning.com

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9825
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2011, 10:05:05 am »
Forget 1.7 and think about 1.8 compatible  ;)
You got the point! ;-) . But as long j1.7 is there, we try to stay compatible. ATM it is working.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

cshough

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2011, 21:17:54 pm »
If virtuemart works with Joomla 1.7 why does the download link say that it is only for 1.5x??

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9825
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2011, 22:57:23 pm »
Which download link says it is only for j1.5?
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ariesrei

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2011, 06:55:10 am »
I am using J1.7 and VM 2.0 RC.
my problem is in the backend of vm2 the label says:
COM_VIRTUEMART_PRODUCT_LIST_LBL          - instead of Product List..
COM_VIRTUEMART_CATEGORY_LIST_LBL        - Category List
COM_VIRTUEMART_ORDER_MOD                    -Order and Customers
COM_VIRTUEMART_PAYMENT_METHOD_LIST_MNU   - aPayments and methods

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27385
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2011, 13:04:54 pm »
ariesrei which RC version? We are now at filename RC2c

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=85643.0
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.6 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.4.5.10058 on Joomla 3.9.6

Amema

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2011, 22:58:09 pm »
I have had some problems like ariesrei mentions (labels not being correct) but in other parts of Joomla 1.7. They all had to do with non-translated strings. Could that be the case?
Unix server, php 5.2.17, VM 2, Joomla 1.7

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9825
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2011, 23:07:10 pm »
The problem is that the language files for j1.7 are very strict. The reason is to improve speed and performance.

When there is only one typo the language file does not work and then you see the language keys and not the translation. When you have problems with other components then take a look on the wiki here dev.virtuemart.net and in the wiki of joomla to correct it. Most time it is not soo much to do.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Rittermann

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2011, 09:40:16 am »
I have problems making i work, when I try to publish a VM module i get only the following message:

Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in /var/www/rittermann.org/cdl/libraries/joomla/plugin/plugin.php on line 102

What did I do wrong?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9825
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2011, 18:00:29 pm »
This is a problem we had since yet only in j1.7 and did not had the time to address it yet. Sorry. since j1.6 we have adjust VM2 for every subversion and this takes a lot time. Should be done in the next subrelease.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

kyovev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2011, 14:31:56 pm »
Hello. I am wondering if vm2 for joomla 1.7 is gonna become stable in the next 3-4 weeks ? I am asking, because i want to build site on the newest version but i can't wait a lot of time. I am not pushing anyone,  i just want to know.. because i read in some website that vm2 will be enough stable to be used with joomla 1.7 bu the end of the year. If this is true i will absolutely use joomla 1.5 and vm 1.1x, because i can't wait log..

Regards

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9825
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: VM2 & Joomla 1.7
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2011, 17:21:01 pm »
because i read in some website that vm2 will be enough stable to be used with joomla 1.7 bu the end of the year. If this is true i will absolutely use joomla 1.5 and vm 1.1x, because i can't wait log..
Where did you read that? Atm we are fighting only with the ACL of j1.7. So I think at august. In your case I would give vm2 and j1.5 a try.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/