News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

Virtuemart 2 Product SQL Queries

Started by chrisatomix, July 06, 2011, 09:39:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chrisatomix

Hi all,
I'm a developer that works heavily with Joomla/Virtuemart, and I'm currently testing out and examining the new code in Virtuemart 2.0 beta 3.

I've had issues before with the large number of SQL queries in Virtuemart, which can cause pages to load extremely slowly. In some cases I've been forced to rewrite entire modules to reduce the strain on the MySQL server.

I was very disappointed to see that despite the much cleaner code structure in VM2 (MVC layout etc), the SQL has not been optimised or made more efficient.
For example, loading a list of products in a category (when there's 2 product in 1 category on my test site) seems to perform 69 SQL queries (!!!), including the following actions:

• Select everything (*) from the category (jos_vm_category)
  • Select the file_ids for this category (jos_vm_category_media_xref).
  • Select the IDs of any children of this category (jos_vm_category_xref)
  • Select the a count of the number of products in this category (jos_vm_product_category_xref and jos_vm_product)
  • Select the IDs of any parents of this category (jos_vm_category_xref)
  • Select the name of this category (jos_vm_category)
  • Select the IDs of the first 20 products in this category (jos_vm_product_category_xref, jos_vm_category, jos_vm_product)
  • Select the IDs of all products in this category (jos_vm_product_category_xref, jos_vm_product, jos_vm_category)
  • For each product ID found, select everything (*) from the product table (jos_vm_product)
  • For each product ID found, select the file_ids (jos_vm_product_media_xref)
  • For each product ID found, select the product_price_ids (jos_vm_product_price)
  • For each price ID found, select everything (*) (jos_vm_product_price)