Author Topic: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module  (Read 59587 times)

Lee Wilson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2011, 10:50:33 am »
OK,

So I understand this beeter. You can get Paypal Pro working but with the standard VM paypal pro module and NOT the one included with this software.

Still interested to understand whether TAX is inclusive of shipping or exclusive of shipping to comply with UK TAX / VAT laws.

Can the author confirm this ?

Thanks

kiravans

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2011, 13:57:47 pm »
Billing v Shipping addresses - not recognizing postcode in alternative shipping addresses.

Alan, I've got this all working fine when I use the default billing address but if I select to use an alternative Shipping address this appears to not recognize the postcode. Any thoughts?

Thanks, Rob.

VM 1.1.3
UK postcode zones module 1.51
Joomla 1.5.9

mx5gr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2011, 17:31:14 pm »
Hi to all,

As reported in http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=82598.msg273122#msg273122 , we have some issues with calculating free shipping. We found a temporary workaround by working out some shipping options. However, in the customer checkout, we get three entries when it comes to shipping option:

Shipping without any shipping option
Shipping with shipping option 1
Shipping with shipping option 2

as the first and second are the same, how can we only show to the customer only the delivery options for which shipping options are declared in the shipping module? Any ideas?

UPDATE: This can be performed by commenting out lines 344-348 of the shipping module:

Code: [Select]
            // find the rate_id if a shipping method has already been choosen
            //$current_rate_id = array_pop(explode('|', urldecode(vmGet( $_REQUEST, 'shipping_rate_id', '' ))));
            //$checked = $current_rate_id == $rate_id ? ' checked="checked"' : '';
            //$string = "<input type=\"radio\"$checked name=\"shipping_rate_id\" value=\"$value\" />";
            //$string .= "$postcode_cfg[POSTCODE_CARRIER_NAME]: $name$extra_description: <strong>". $CURRENCY_DISPLAY->getFullValue($basic_rate)."</strong><br />";


suko7777

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2011, 16:03:05 pm »
Hello,

I´ve installed UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module in my virtuemart 1.1.7 stable, and joomla 1.5.22. Any problem during the installation.

I´m impressed with all can do the module, great work!

I just need to solve a small problem. I can configure all options in the first two areas (instances, and basic config)

However, when I click "add zones" within "zones", and fill the form to create a new zone, and I click on "Save", the application takes me to a completely blank screen. To go back, I have only the option "back"function, but when I return, the zone has NOT been created.

Does anyone know how I can fix this problem?

As additional information, try to set the following delivery areas:

AREA                   SHIPPING RATE       FREE SHIPPING
España Península       6 €            On orders over 65 €
Baleares              10 €            On orders over 100 €
Canarias, Ceuta y Melilla  15 €          On orders over 200 €
Resto del Mundo                 Check costs before ordering

Thank´s a lot for your help and congratulations for the module again to the developers.

suko7777

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2011, 16:25:07 pm »
after turning on error reporting in joomla, and try to recreate the zones, I get the following error.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function array_fill_keys() in /var/www/vhosts/domain/httpdocs/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/shipping/postcode.php on line 1230

Anyone know how I can fix the problem?

ZatriX_ZA

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2011, 21:02:10 pm »
Hm, I've sorted out my little problem with shipping rate not displaying. Turns out, I had a 'check if a post code is in the right country' ticked, and although the postcode actually was in the country, the module chose to ignore it. )

Now I have another problem: I've created two postcodes for testing purposes, 1000 and 2000 and put them into different zones. But the shipping rate calculates from zone 1 regardless of the code, even if the code customer enters doesn't exist. ?? Anyone??

kleinbaas

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2011, 01:06:19 am »
I'm starting a new thread for the UK Postcode/County/country code zones shipping module.

Hi Alan

I asked a question about tax on the old thread (here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=57000.210). Tax is not being added to the shipping when using your extension. Let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks for your help in advance, I promise a donation if I can get this to work :-)

---------------
Actually, on closer inspection, when I go though to nochex the price includes tax on the shipping, but on the checkout screen after selecting the shipping method it is not included. Strange.
Ill keep looking around.. any ideas while Im searching anyone?

Al

kleinbaas

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2011, 03:44:00 am »
hey I fixed it :-)

For those who have the same problem, here's how:
In basket.php I added this code:
Code: [Select]
require_once(CLASSPATH. "ps_tax.php");
$shipping_taxrate = ps_tax::get_taxrate_by_id(intval($postcode_cfg['POSTCODE_TAX_RATE']));
(as borrowed from Alan's file) just below this bit of code:
Code: [Select]
/* HANDLE SHIPPING COSTS */
if( !empty($shipping_rate_id) && !ps_checkout::noShippingMethodNecessary() ) {
$shipping = true;
$vars["weight"] = $weight_total;
$shipping_total = round( $ps_checkout->_SHIPPING->get_rate ( $vars ), 5 );

That fixed my shipping tax problem. I also had to fix some bits in ps_checkout.php, but I think I caused those issues with previous hacks.

I do have a question/issue though. I have a zone for "PO30-PO41" (outward), and a different zone that contains "AB,PO,ZZ,etc" (area) and then a zone with the same name and price as the first zone set to "BT,PA,PH,etc" (area). Unfortunately when I register with postcode PO32 5UY I get the price for the 2nd zone, not the first as expected.

Any ideas why anyone?

Oh, and another small issue, my "No zone match message" doesnt show.

Apart form that all seem well :-) Loving it so far. If you want to see it in action, go to http://www.stonedeertools.com

iMAAXX

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #23 on: April 30, 2011, 23:25:03 pm »
Hello,

Thanks for making this great Shipping Module… I am located in Canada and this is by far the best Shipping Module we have found so far. We have this installed and working perfectly on our site, its calculating all the taxes correctly and as far as I can see this is exactly what we needed.

We are however having one small issue and I am not really sure how to fix this.

We are running Joomla 1.5.23, Virtue Mart 1.1.8 and the Shipping Module 1.51
I am enclosing a screen capture of what it looks like on my computer and I am getting this same problem with IE8 and Firefox 3+ so my guess this is a CSS styling issue or something like that.

To me it looks like it has the space for all the options we have created one for each province and two in some case so we have made over 14 instances of this module to accommodate all of our province options.

I thinnk it is not collapsing the ones that are not visible and the module is still providing space for them all even thou they only have two options actually available… If that makes sense at all.



Thanks


[attachment cleanup by admin]

iMAAXX

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2011, 23:51:42 pm »
does anyone have any idea how to get rid of this extra space?

Thanks for your help.


rakagod

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #25 on: May 06, 2011, 01:28:51 am »
I believe your product will nicely handle my shipping cost requirements.

In the documentation I see references to "State 2 Code, State 3 Code, Country 2 Code or Country 3 Code"; am I correct in assuming that the "2" refers to a two character code and the "3" refers to a three character code?

Thank you for your help

LittleMissTechy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2011, 14:47:10 pm »
Hi Alan

First off I would like to thank you for sharing such a useful module with the Virtuemart Community, as customisable shipping modules seem to be at a premium.

I have successfully implemented three instances of your module on my vendor's website
1. UK shipping - 2 levels dependent on order total;
2. Flat-rate shipping Europe;
3. Flat-rate shipping for the rest of the world.

The vendor has requested to make a specific category of products exempt from postage for the UK and exempt from being purchased in Europe/rest of world. The second part is easy using the disallowed products in the relevant zones, but after staring at it for quite some time, I cannot seem to find a way to allow certain products/categories to be completely exempt from shipping within the UK.

Is it possible with this module?

I am using VM 1.1.7 with Joomla 1.5.21.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Taz

vickoy23

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2011, 07:29:40 am »
Hi Allan,

I clicked on the link to download the module but couldn't because the file is not available on the server. Can you help with a working link?

misholini

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.1
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2011, 18:43:28 pm »
Hi,
I am using UK postcodes shipping module together with the Standard Shipping module. As in the shipping module list all modules are ordered and given id alphabetically, the UK Postcode.. module appears above the Standard Module upon Checkout. How can I bring the UK Postcodes..Module below the Standard one. My point is that this module does not have a header information as the Standard one and it looks a bit messy to show Shipping information like that.

rian

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: UK Postcode/County/Country code zones module
« Reply #29 on: July 12, 2011, 15:40:57 pm »
hello,
thankx for this great module, it does exactly what I was looking for a very long time. Only one question: I need different tax rates for different countries, for instance eu-countries have 20% vat, non-eu-countries have no tax, it would be best if you could enter the tax rate also in the zone. my workaround is to create a second instance. is there an easier way?

thank you!